top of page

BLOG TOUR with AUTHOR EXCLUSIVE and GIVEAWAY: 'Past the Breakers' by Lucie Archer


Title: Past the Breakers

Author: Lucie Archer

Published: May 15, 2017

Cover Artist: Brooke Albrecht

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Length: 220 Pages

Tags: Gay; M/M; Paranormal: Ghosts

About Past the Breakers

Casey North lost everything when his restaurant burned to the ground: his hopes, his dreams, his reason for living. With nothing tying him to LA, he packs up and moves back to his hometown of Land’s End. He takes up residence in a beach house and attempts to shake the depression he’s fallen into after his life collapsed. There’s just one tiny problem: the ghost haunting his kitchen.

Myles Taylor wasn’t always trapped in the Between. One minute, he was about to propose to his boyfriend of five years as they sat out on their surfboards, and the next, he woke up on the beach to find his long-dead uncle walking toward him. After his shock fades, he must learn to navigate his new reality as he searches for a way to move into the Great Beyond. But first he must deal with the man who’s invaded his territory.

With Myles tied to the beach house and Casey unwilling to leave it, the two must learn to cohabitate as the lines separating them begin to blur. They grow closer than either expected, but what will become of them once Myles finally escapes the Between?

Beach House Review by Casey North

Amenities: 5 stars

Affordability: 5 stars

Location: 3 stars

View: 5 stars

Overall Rating: 1 Star

The house itself is great, but I had to take off major points for the ghost in the kitchen.

Unless you are a paranormal investigator, I’d steer clear of this “House on Haunted Hill.” I came here hoping to relax, recuperate, and stop my life from spiraling any further down the drain, and instead I wake up to strange noises, an irritated cat, and a nosy neighbor, whom I suspect might also be a ghost. Maybe a gargoyle. Okay, that’s not fair, but she’s definitely a curmudgeon.

I will say that the view is amazing. Tranquil Bay is beautiful at sunset. And also sunrise, as I recently found out when I woke up after something pulled the sheets off me. Call me crazy if you like, I’m halfway there myself, but I know things happen in this house, things that can’t be explained. Sure, maybe I kicked them off in my sleep, but how do you explain the banging noises on the cabinets?

So what if my doctor said I was hallucinating? How do you explain my cat following things with his eyes that aren’t there and hissing at thin air? He’s really starting to creep me out. I’m aware I’m beginning to sound like a raving lunatic, but tomorrow, I’m calling the owner and lodging a complaint. No wonder the rental fees for private beach access were so cheap.

TL;DR Ok if you like nice ocean breezes, séances, and communing with the dead. But having to take two flights of stairs down to the beach really blows.

EDIT: Well, what do you know? I was just informed that someone died while staying here. My sister tried to warn me. Hell, I think my cat did too, but I didn’t listen because I don’t believe in ghosts. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a therapy appointment to go to. And after that, I have to see a priest about an exorcism.

Blog tour:

May 8 - MM Good Book Reviews May 11 - Dreamspinner Press Blog May 12 - Scattered Thoughts and Rogue Words May 15 (Release day!) - Long and Short Reviews May 16 - Love Bytes May 17 - Two Chicks Obsessed May 18 - Kimmers' Erotic Book Banter May 19 - My Fiction Nook May 20 - Boy Meets Boy May 22 - Tammy's Two Cents May 23 - Alpha Book Reviews

Meet the Author

Lucie Archer is a student of the universe who is obsessed with the stars, in love with beaches, and crazy about dudes falling in love. She tells stories of romance, love, and life, with a little bit of passion thrown in for good measure. Because what’s life without a little pop and sizzle?

When she’s not writing, she can be found tending to her garden, playing with her four-legged children, or procrastinating. Although, she spends a lot of time fending off random plot bunnies that threaten to derail her WIP’s.

For more from Lucie visit her website.

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page