top of page

RELEASE DAY REVIEW: 'From War to Forever' by Andria Large


Title: From War to Forever

Author: Andria Large

Published: April 24, 2017 2nd Edition

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press

Cover Artist: Bree Archer

Genre: Contemporary Romance; Erotic Romance

Length: 330 Pages

Tags: M/M; Gay; Comfort/Hurt; Friends to Lovers; CW: PTSD; GFY; HEA

About From War to Forever

Dennis

The love of my life is dead. Is there a reason to live anymore?

I’m a veteran Marine. Terrorists took not only my foot, but also my wife. Recurrent nightmares, a dead-end job, and a painful limp are all I have left. My best friend, Tucker, and my sister, Lizette, keep me afloat. I wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for Tucker… literally. And then, out of nowhere, there are these feelings. The kind I haven’t felt in years. The kind I’m not sure I can handle, or even want to. But they’ve started wrapping around my broken heart, trying to mend it. Only they are not for a woman, but for the man suddenly sharing my bed. I’m not so sure I’m ready to give love another go.

Tucker

The war took my hearing, but I’m alive. Many of my friends are not. I am building a life with my best friend, Dennis. We have become practically inseparable. And now, we are more than friends. I’ve never had feelings like these for a man. My parents, my brother, my buddy, Duke—will they understand how I feel about Dennis? Can I risk losing my family?

First Edition published as At War by KDP Select, 2015.

4 HEART READ

REVIEW:

Andria Large writes From War to Forever for readers who tire of romances that end shortly after the couple declare their love. After all, it’s more interesting to learn how love is kept, than how it’s won.

From War to Forever is a standalone novel, originally published in 2015 at KDP under the title At War as part of a trilogy.

Tucker and Dennis are combat Marines who met in therapy and are friends/roommates when the book begins. Dennis was unable to save his wife, a reporter who was captured. Plus, he lost part of his leg in combat. Tucker has lost his hearing. Both lost friends. Nevertheless, the men are well enough to hold employment, Tucker in an office and Dennis (despite his prosthesis) as security at a bar.

When Dennis falls into a deep depression, unable to date or move on from his wife’s death, the men realize they really only find comfort from one another’s touch. They are equally shocked as lust slowly emerges from friendship to love.

But this is where the story line begins. It creates a meandering arc, much like life, with expected and unexpected occurrences that create relationship difficulties, conflicts and opportunities. At first psychological issues predominate, then physical health, and finally social pressures. And each step creates choices whether to deepen, or pull back from trust, between Dennis and Tucker as well as with family and friends.

While the sizzle level is high, Dennis and Tucker’s intimacy is consistently driven by their needs. In so doing, Andria depicts the comprehensive transitions combat Vets might endure, in order to emerge with complete hearts.

Large’s attention to the details of human experience keeps readers glued.

For example, she accurately captures glances, how they differ between friends, lovers, and siblings. The deliciously nasty humor of male banter carefully demonstrates their affection, while the kidding between brother and sister, though equally wicked, is written completely differently.

At each moment, Andria seems to strike the right note, each emotion true. Even as readers can predict characters’ foolish decisions we know we’d make similar ones. And when the characters take courageous steps, we can’t help but root for them.

For a thoroughly engaging, open-hearted look at love, with all its foibles, From War to Forever is a great read.

A copy of From War to Forever was provided to Kimmers’ Erotic Book Banter, by Dreamspinner Press, at no cost and with no expectations in return. We offer our fair and honest opinion on behalf of our readers.

Meet the Author

Andria Large is a traditionally published and self-published contemporary romance author. She doesn’t always follow the rules, so you will find both M/F and M/M books mixed into some of her series.

Henry from the Beck Brothers Series was the first book she self-published. Not expecting anything to really come of it, she was shocked to find the book caught wind and readers were asking for more. Writing books was not something she had set out to do. She wrote stories for herself, as a hobby. Now that it has become her career, she wouldn’t have it any other way.

Andria grew up in Philadelphia, but now lives in New Jersey with her two daughters and wonderfully supportive husband, who frequently accompanies her at signings. The events that she attends every year are one of her favorite things about being an author. She loves meeting and conversing with her readers, but also enjoys finding new ones.

Andria considers herself open and friendly, so feel free to send her a message if you have a question or just want to chat.

For more from Andria visit her website.

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page