top of page

BANTER BUDDIES: A Dual View of Jack L. Pyke's 'Shaded Chains'


Today, in connection with Jack L. Pyke’s Shaded Chains Blog Tour, Trio and I have a fantastic Banter Buddies pre-release for you. Shaded Chains is a rewrite of Jack’s original, His, written for the 2014 Goodreads M/M Romance Group’s ‘Love’s Landscapes’ event. Pyke was given a prompt, “Even the best of Doms aren’t infallible, and this one almost lost his beautiful boy. He straightened his head out quickly enough, but by then his boy wasn’t quite so forgiving. If his stubborn sub is so damn resistant to reason, drastic measures are called for… right?” along with this photo and asked to craft a story around them.

What she has created is a compelling novella about the beautiful relationship between a Dom and his sub. I myself must say I haven’t quite read anything like it.

In full disclosure let me tell you that I read this as a BETA back in December and it was even better this second time around. The flourish of empathy Jack conveys in her stories never fails to reach me. So, without gushing too much, catch my and Trio’s favorite characters, quotes and more and be sure not to miss our read recommendations! Trio even gives you a little insight on what she likes more in this version compared to Pyke’s original.

Happy Reading, Kimmers

Title: Shaded Chains

Author: Jack L. Pyke

Release Date: June 13, 2017

Cover Artist: Siol na Tine

Genre: Dark Erotic Romance; Contemporary Romance

Length: 139 Pages

Tags: Gay; M/M; BDSM; Tattoos/Piercings; Dub-Con; D/s; Established Couple; Disorder: Dementia/Alzheimer’s; Novella; HFN; CW: Abduction; Kink: Bondage, Genital Torture, Masochism, Orgasm Denial, Sadism, Flogging

About Shaded Chains

“Say my fucking name.”

Alex Gardner is a psychiatric nurse, Ross McKendrik a tattoo artist: both know the fears and strains of caring for an old man with dementia: Ross’s father. When lines between father and son are crossed and trust is broken between Alex and Ross—between a sub and Dom—Ross is in a fight for his life to earn the right to hear his sub say his name again. Only having grown up in the Scottish Highlands, Ross’s methods are a little... dangerous, his methods a little... dark. Love is about to get very, very tough.

Favorite main character: Kimmers: "God, for me, I can’t pick one. Both Ross and Alex or just too beautiful and complex to choose. They each have something compelling about them that just draws me in and makes me want to be right there with them."

Trio: "I found Ross to be the most interesting character, his emotions are complicated and he is struggling with so many issues during the story: His father’s steady decline in health, his role in his lover’s life, his realization to take his father’s advice and let go of the physical trappings of life and 'see what matters most.'"

Favorite secondary character: Kimmers: "Since Trio and I both agree on this, I’m gonna let her tell you . . ."

Trio: "I’m going with Shaun for favorite secondary character. He is suffering with “Sundowner’s Syndrome” which causes him to become aggressive and experience psychotic events periodically. He really seems to know what’s happening to him and his grief broke my heart."

Favorite endearment: Kimmers: "Oh, Lord, it has to be Las. Every damn time Ross utters that word there is just something that makes me melt. I can’t even imagine what I would do if I could hear him say it!"

Trio: "I love when Ross calls Alex his 'bonnie bairn'. I like when the Dom in a D/s relationship plays this role with his sub and can be nurturing; that Ross can show his desire to protect and cherish Alex was wonderful."

Favorite scene: Kimmers: "I want to say the Tattoo scene because it’s . . . yeah, WOW! But, the departing scene in this book is absolutely breathtaking!"

Trio: "I'm with Kimmers, my favorite scene is when Ross is getting ready to give Alex the tattoo and he’s just appreciating his sub’s body. 'Alex seemed able to play even light and shadow to his advantage… depending on the angle he writhed within.' Through an artist’s eyes . . . gorgeous."

Favorite quote:

Kimmers: "This one is really hard for me as I enjoy my quotes and certain authors just have a magical way about it. So, I gotta go with two: 'He’d drawn the single link to a chain, shading it the best he could, finishing it off with the single message: Missing, link…' and 'Nothing was said, wounds just licked in private, in quiet.'”

Trio: "'The late hour touched close to one in the morning, Monday, and the quiet of Ross’s house called it out too.' What a beautiful way to say he could tell it was late by the time on his watch and by the quiet of the home."

This book made me: Kimmers: "Appreciate the complex and beautiful dynamic between a Dom and sub."

Trio: "Reflect on the permanence of life – how we can’t get tied up worrying about the future and to enjoy the here and now. Also, to reevaluate the importance we place on objects in our world . . . in a sense it isn’t the coat that makes the man, yeah?"

What type of reader would you recommend this book to? Kimmers: "Anyone who enjoys a well written story that embarks upon the complexity and beauty of BDSM and D/s relationships."

Trio: "Readers who enjoy a deep look into complex characters, fans of BDSM and D/s relationships, and those of us who love a look at the darker side of life will love this book."

For purchase links, excerpts, meet the author, and more . . . visit our review recommendation links above.

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page