top of page

AUTHOR INTERVIEW with GIVEAWAY: Elizabeth Lister of The James Lucas and The Loft Trilogies


Hearing Elizabeth Lister was publishing The Loft Two, and coming this fall The Loft Three, I couldn’t wait to find out what Tate, Sebastian and James would get up to!

If you are not familiar with Lister’s work, when she released the story Skate Lace on her blog last spring, as a long time fan I can’t convey how excited I was! Between her stories, and the gorgeous pictures she always posts, I definitely recommend subscribing to her on social media.

For a little flavor of what she is all about I am honored to have Elizabeth graciously answer a few questions about her guys, and what she looks for when curling up with a good book.

In celebration of her release of The Loft Book Two, set to release this Friday, August 11th, Elizabeth has left a special giveaway for one lucky winner!

Title: The Loft Book Two

Series: The Loft Trilogy #2

Author: Elizabeth Lister

Publication Date: August 11, 2017

Publisher: MLR Press Cover Artist: Melody Pond

Genre: Contemporary Romance; Erotic Romance

Tags: Gay; Menage; M/M/M; D/s; BDSM; Established Couple/Relationship; May/December; HFN; Kink: Bondage, Exhibitionism, Masochism, Humiliation, Object Penetration, Sex Toys

About The Loft Book Two Tate and Sebastian spend more and more time at their boyfriend/Dom James’ home but when they receive a notice of eviction from their apartment they hesitate to examine the obvious solution - moving in with James. In the meantime, James and his longtime friend Catherine plan an elaborate fetish party at Catherine’s club in Gatineau - La Petite Mort. Tate is apprehensive and James does what he can to allay his fears, including taking both young men to the club on an ordinary night. But an ordinary night with James proves anything but as he indulges his love of sexual game-playing.

 

I love all your characters but you seem to have really gotten inside Tate’s head. Is he based on someone from your life?

It’s funny, I always assumed Tate was me, or how I would be as a gay man, since I write from his perspective. But I’ve lately realized that each of the characters have elements of myself in them. They are all aspects of me. James is my dominant, competent side, Sebastian is my sweet submissive side, and Tate is my bratty, little provocateur aspect. I’ve put a bit of myself into all of them. I work at a pet store and I used to sing in a choir at the United Church (Sebastian). I worked at a Management Consulting firm before I had kids and I tend to overthink things (Tate). And I always wanted a house with a refurbished attic playroom, and possibly two very attractive young men to play with at the same time (James), LOL.

If your boys could be in any other time period from the past when would it be and why?

I honestly can’t picture them in any other time period. I really strive to make their world as contemporary as possible. If I had to, I’d set them in the Victorian age, when society was very prudish on the surface but teemed with sensuality and sexuality beneath ;)

James is such a fascinating character and I was thrilled with aspects of his past which came out in A Numinous Life. Would you ever consider writing a book about a young James and how he came to be?

That is a very tempting idea. I would absolutely consider it.

Nori is fantastic, will he get a book?

I love Nori as well. One of my favourite lines is when James says “Be a good little rope boy.” but he’s just teasing. And how Nori refuses to go look for anyone else to have fun with. I’ll have to think about giving him his own story. That isn’t a bad idea.

I’ve been enjoying the book reviews you’ve been posting on your blog and I have a few questions about books you read:

Who are your favorite romance authors?

I don’t read a ton of romance, surprisingly. I like to read classic literature and contemporary fiction.

But I have to say that I love Amy Jo Cousins’ writing style, and NR Walker and Nathan Burgoine. Nathan writes paranormal romance and also non-romance. Some of his stuff is pretty smutty too :) He happens to be a friend of mine. I also read a very naughty book this year by M.A. Innes. It’s called Secrets in the Dark and is a pretty simple but well written MM age play romance. There is lots of subtle and not-so-subtle age play in The James Lucas Trilogy but this book by Ms. Innes takes that to a whole other level. I liked the way she addressed it as a legitimate BDSM lifestyle in the book. Some of the more extreme aspects of the age play in her book didn’t resonate with me but I loved the dynamic between the characters, and the dominance and submission aspects are so wonderful and well written.

Do you have a go-to comfort read?

Okay, this is embarrassing but a big comfort read for me is Judy Blume’s Summer Sisters (written for adults). It takes me right back to my childhood and vacationing on the East Coast. I can smell the sea and hear the seagulls and re-experience my childhood summers through her characters.

What’s the best book you’ve read this year and why?

My mom passed away in May 2016 and I inherited many of her books. Her favorite author was Carol Shields so I’ve been reading all her Carol Shields short story collections and novels. What’s really cool is that she wrote down in each book who gave it to her and why, like “Birthday gift from the kids, 1995”. It make me feel close to her. So the best book I read this year was Unless, by Carol Shields. It deals with motherhood and mental illness and post-traumatic shock but in a very ordinary way. I love her writing style - it’s like listening to beautiful music.

Meet the Author

Elizabeth Lister is a happily married mom of two living in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. She loves creating dynamic characters and weaving together romance and sex to make an enjoyable story. The escapism provided by erotic romance is what draws Elizabeth to this genre.

For more from Elizabeth be sure and visit her website.

GIVEAWAY: 1 lucky reader will WIN an eBook of The Loft Book Two!

Contest ends 12:00 a.m. CST/USA August 11, 2017.

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page