top of page

RELEASE DAY REVIEW: 'Twisted and Tied' by Mary Calmes


Title: Twisted and Tied

Series: Marshals #4

Author: Mary Calmes

Published: March 13, 2018

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press Cover Artist: Reese Dante

Genre: Mystery/Thriller; Suspense; Contemporary Romance; Erotic Romance

Length: 266 Pages

Tags: Gay; M/M; Bisexual; Friends to Lovers; Established Couple; Law Enforcement

About Twisted and Tied

Deputy US Marshal Miro Jones finally has everything he ever wanted. He’s head-over-heels in love and married to the man of his dreams, his partner Ian Doyle, he’s doing well at work, and all his friends are in good places as well. Things are all tied up nicely… until they’re not.

Change has never been easy for Miro, and when situations at work force the team he’s come to depend on to break apart, and worst of all, his and Ian’s individual strengths put them on two separate paths, he’s pretty certain everything just went up in smoke. But before he can even worry about the future, his past comes for a visit, shaking his world up even more. It’s hard to tell what road he should truly be on, but as he learns some paths are forged and others are discovered, it might be that where he's going is the right course after all. If he can navigate all the twists and turns, he and Ian might just get their happily ever after.

5 HEART READ

REVIEW:

Ahhhh! Ian and Miro are back. I jumped at the chance to read this book because the Marshals series means so much to me. I have literally read and listened to this entire series many, many times. I won’t say exactly how many but believe me it’s a lot! Ian and Miro are one of my absolute favorite couples and Twisted and Tied, book 4 in Mary Calmes Marshals series, is truly a five heart read.

Twisted and Tied has everything: our favorite Marshals, lots of action, tons of changes in the workplace, Miro’s “coven” of friends, Sam Kage, a blast from the past and Miro’s boys. I don’t even know where to start!

The Marshals series is best read in order and I would also recommend reading Together Tied, Mary Calmes short freebie released for Valentine’s Day, before you read Twisted and Tied. It solves the mystery of “the gun” and if you’ve read the series from the beginning you will know what I’m referring to.

Tied Up in Knots, book 3 in the Marshals series, ends with a promise of marriage given by Ian and his retirement as a Green Beret. Miro is over the moon. He never imagined a life with his best friend and partner. And he often thinks, “Sometimes, stupidly, I wondered if I was as important to Ian as he was to me. But always, inevitably, inexorably, he proved to me I was paramount in his mind.” All the feels here!

 

Twisted and Tied has everything: our favorite Marshals, lots of action, tons of changes in the workplace, Miro’s “coven” of friends, Sam Kage, a blast from the past and Miro’s boys.

 

Told from Miro’s point of view I love being in his head. Twisted and Tied has Ian and Miro married and readers get an intimate view of that day at the courthouse and the events leading up to it. All I have to say is AMAZING and so typically like them! Getting Miro’s point of view and seeing all of Ian’s reactions, “He was mine, and it was done, and as my vision blurred, he kissed me to a round of clapping and cheering. I put my face against his shoulder as I shuddered, and he held me tight enough to keep me from flying apart with happiness. It was, without a doubt, the greatest day of my life. I could not ever remember being happier.” I literally melted into a puddle reading this. *sigh*

I’ve followed Ian and Miro from the beginning and it’s been an absolute joy to see each man grow individually and as a loving couple. Miro has grown closer with members of his Marshal team, especially Eli Kohn. (That man is screaming for his own book and I believe Ms. Calmes has one planned for him.) And Ian has matured along the way becoming more comfortable in his skin. He’s even learned to communicate better with his partner and isn’t afraid to express how he feels for Miro. He says, “‘You’re my husband, and I didn’t think that would ever be something I would want, and now its the only thing I do.’” I read that and just gushed. That’s not to say these two don’t have their disagreements and little fights.

There are huge, amazing changes at work for Ian, Miro and their team of Marshals. It really shakes things up and all the guys are reeling but it’s all good. I think they each realize their individual strengths. Miro especially is thrown for a loop, but eventually comes to terms with his new role. There’s also something so unexpected that happens involving one of Miro’s coven that just threw me for a loop. Not in a bad way at all, but just so surprising, and I can’t wait for everyone to read it.

 

Mary Calmes brings her A-game in Twisted and Tied!

 

I love how characters from other Mary Calmes series show up in Twisted and Tied as well as characters from previous books in the Marshals series. It’s like one big happy family. Calmes has indicated this is the end of Miro’s point of view but she has plans for the series to continue. I have to say I am really looking forward to Callahan and Redeker’s story and seeing where that leads.

One character I’ve always been fascinated with is Dr. Craig Hartley, otherwise known as the Prince Charming serial killer. Miro and Dr. Hartley have a complicated history together ever since Miro saved his life and Twisted and Tied brings them together one more time. It’s amazing when an author can almost make you care about a character like Dr. Hartley. I don’t exactly feel sorry for him but there is something about the relationship between the two that pulled me in from the start. Miro goes through a lot with Hartley but Ian is always there by his side, telling him, “‘You don’t belong to Craig Hartley, you understand? You belong to me. You’re mine, and no one and nothing comes between us, not ever.’”

Mary Calmes brings her A-game in Twisted and Tied! She’s such a talented author. Her characters are always well developed, gorgeous and fun. All of the twists and turns, the love between Ian and Miro, all of the many characters are here and it’s a bumpy but very enjoyable ride and definitely well worth it. I loved seeing how Miro and Ian deal with all the changes at work and what they go through only makes them so much stronger. I am dying to get this on audio because Tristan James, hands down, brings this series to LIFE!

A copy of Twisted and Tied was provided to Kimmers’ Erotic Book Banter, by Dreamspinner Press, at no cost and with no expectations in return. We offer our fair and honest opinion on behalf of our readers.

Meet the Author

Mary Calmes believes in romance, happily ever afters, and the faith it takes for her characters to get there. She bleeds coffee, thinks chocolate should be its own food group, and currently lives in Kentucky with a five-pound furry ninja that protects her from baby birds, spiders and the neighbor’s dogs.

For more from Mary be sure and visit her website!

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page