top of page

REVIEW: 'Soulmate' by Kol Anderson


Title: Soulmate

Series: Sin, #1

Author: Kol Anderson

Published: October 23, 3013

Publisher: Self-Published

Genre: Dark Erotic Romance

Length: 84 Pages

Tags: M/M; Gay; Novelette; CW: Abduction; CW: Kidnapping; CW: Non Con; CW: Incest; CW: Child Abuse; CW: Dub-Con; CW: Rape; CW: Taboo

BLURB:

There's a very fine line between love and sin. The Mason family has a secret. Hunter and Kayden grew up trying to cover that secret and trying to find a way to deal with it, but all they've received in return is misery. When Hunter brings home a girl that looks like she's going to be staying a while, Kayden begins to find that hard to deal with.

5 HEART READ

REVIEW: What to say about Kol Anderson’s Soulmate, the first book in the Sin series?

One important thing to know about me is that I am obsessed with Kol Anderson and ALL of his work. He inspires me creatively every day. I could go on, believe me.

Lord please just help me Kol Anderson is a god. The man is a genuine, modern day genius. As genius as you get today! His stories rip my heart out through my throat every time, put it back, slice my chest open and then dice my heart into a million pieces then set- fire to it and roast marshmallows in its embers. And really, what more can you ask for from an author?

Kol is my inspiration and my literary hero. I wish I could be coached or mentored by him. I would soak up everything he would teach me.

Kol, if this reaches you, please know that you have a true goddamn fan for life. You're my hero and thank you for sharing your work.

So, yeah...the book. Soulmate tore me into a million pieces. I have always been fascinated by the bonds of brothers. Always! It is a beautiful bond at times.

I so enjoyed how Kol made me work for the ending.

He didn't just start the story promisingly, only to have the two MCs declare undying love at the end after a hot consummation. Instead he put a bit of reality in there, and my heart broke for the masculine yet boyish Hunter.

Hunter and Kayden Mason grew up in a tough home where abuse was prevalent. Even though most of the abuse they suffered as children is referred to in off-screen flashbacks, it is still described fairly brutally - fair warning. As with most abuse, keeping the secret ended up weighing nearly as heavily on the brothers as the actual abuse itself.

Now they live together as adults, away from the abuse of their father but still prisoners to its legacy. When Hunter, the big brother, brings home a girl who looks like she’s not going anywhere, Kayden feels threatened and lashes out in destructive ways.

I enjoy Kol's narrative voice in everything he does and Soulmate is no exception. I don't know how to sum it up, cause words ain't good enough. I can't explain it.

His written voice just paints such powerful imagery, a picture, that draws out emotions in you.

I'm still haunted by Carter Bennett in Prisoner, Sir. Kol is a dialogue god, using it to reveal character, drive story and set mood.

I had to have Hunter's reunion with Kayden. Not that I ever expect any of Mr. Anderson's stories to leave you with a straight forward HEA. His brilliance is quite evident. I’ll be honest and frank and state up front that there is a cliffy - sort of. But Soulmate can be read as a standalone and Kol promises he’s working on a follow up!

And to Kol Anderson I say, I love you. Now please dance with me in the rain for thirty minutes.

A copy of Kol Anderson's Soulmate, Sin #1 was purchased by the Contributor so that Kimmers' Erotic Book Banter could offer our fair and honest opinion.

$0.99

Do you need help getting your non-Amazon purchased eBooks to your reader?

“The books that the world calls immoral are books that show the world its own shame.” ― Oscar Wilde I'm a writer. I'm not the guy who writes books in your head. I'm the guy who writes books in MY head. If you're into the fluffier side of life, you have my blessing but will you please take the next exit. For the rest of you depraved pervs, enjoy your stay ;)

I love to dream. And sometimes enjoy the concept of nightmares turning into fantasies, hence the dark subject matter of my books and the constant HEA approach. I do love the idea of love, and I have a passion for reading and movies and music and anything that keeps me distracted from the fact that life is pointless.

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page