top of page

AUTHOR INTERVIEW & EXCLUSIVE EXCERPT: Zoe Perdita, 'Titan Unleashed - Broken Heroes Book Two


Today we have a big treat as Male/Male fantasy author, Zoe Perdita has decided to stop by Kimmers' Erotic Book Banter to talk about her Broken Heroes series as well as a little bit about herself.

Kimmers: “Hi, Zoe! I just want to thank you for reaching out to the Banter and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to meet with us today. You and I have been conversing for a couple of weeks now, in an effort to spread the word about your wonderful Broken Heroes series, so it is a pleasure to finally get a few minutes to really get to know you. Your series sounds so exciting that I really just want to get started with you telling us about it if that is O.K.?”

Zoe: “I am happy to have the opportunity, Kimmers. Let’s do it.”

Kimmers: “Tell us a little bit about this series and what we might expect from this newest installment.”

Zoe: “This book picks up where the last Broken Heroes left off. Patrick and Calder are new boyfriends dealing with the fallout of a terrorist attack and trying to find out why Calder doesn’t remember his past. Also, they’re dealing with Patrick’s somewhat troubling, in Calder’s mind, kinks.”

Kimmers: “So what led you to write this series?”

Zoe: “My love of superheroes and superhero fan fiction. I’m looking at you, BatFlash! There aren’t enough gay superheroes out there in normal comics, so I decided to write a book about lovely gay superheroes with a dash of BDSM, because I’m pretty sure that’s what Superman and Batman get up to in their spare time.”

Kimmers: “I'm almost certain every superhero fan out there with a penchant for M/M has a fantasy like that.” *giggles* “In reading your author page it appears you have a passion for manga. I have to say I love manga art. They are so free and depictive, especially the videos. Sometimes they almost make you feel guilty for watching, and liking, a ‘cartoon’.” *laughing* “Having said that, what led to your support of the genre?”

Zoe: “I’ve been a fan of anime since I was a kid. It always seemed so much darker than American cartoons, but in a good way. Then, I saw Vampire Hunter D at 12 and never turned back. I still love ‘normal’ cartoons, so I’ve never felt bad for watching it. But anime is more grown up than the cartoons in the US. They cover every genre and have a plethora of shows not suitable for kids at all, like Erased and When They Cry, both of which are super disturbing psychological horror anime, and really good!. I just love the depth of the plots and characters, and how much freedom the creators have to tell their stories.

“Expanding on this I was inspired to write M/M because of my love of slash fan fiction, which did spring from my love of anime/manga. I realized there was a real genre for it and there’s enough heteronormative romance to go around. We need more inclusive fiction. That’s why Patrick is gay, but Calder is pansexual. Also, I prefer it to M/F romance by a long shot. No weird sexual politics or misogyny.”

Kimmers: “I would have to say that is one of the things I enjoy about watching manga. They are just freer about their sexuality. As we have chatted I can really tell that you enjoy your characters, and we as readers always hear that characters talk to authors. Do yours do this, and if so, which of your characters do you like or hate and why?”

Zoe: “Yep! I like all my characters who aren’t total assholes. In these books, I like everyone, even the shadowy bad guy who hasn’t come out of the shadows yet. He’s terrible, but I still like him. I love Calder and Patrick equally, but Calder is easier to write because he’s louder. Deacon is a delightful enigma, and I have a lot of respect for Adele. She’s always getting the short end of the stick, and I don’t think she deserves it. I hope I can fix that in the next book.”

Kimmers: “Now that we know a little about your series and your characters let us address some more personal items. Who would you say is your biggest supporter?”

Zoe: “My fans! Without them, I couldn’t do this for a living and I am forever grateful.

Kimmers: “That’s right, you did mention you are a full time author and that writing, promoting, revisions, and keeping up with social media are brutal, but you wouldn't change a thing. I can tell you as a blogger, I can totally relate. You always have to be sure your presence is known, it’s just part of it. So, I must always ask this one because our community is so supportive. Are there any causes within the LGBTQ community that are a hot button for you or that you are passionate about?”

Zoe: “For me, bisexual/pansexual erasure is important, and not just because that’s how I identify. I think people forget there is a spectrum of sexualities out there and it needs to be addressed better. So does inclusive entertainment. I’m all for more gay superheroes, Cap/Bucky, please, and just more non straight characters in general in every form of media. The more people see it as normal the less bigotry we’ll have as a society.”

Kimmers: “Hear, hear! O.K. on to some easier ones as we close up. What other projects are you working on?”

Zoe: “I’m working on the next book in my Haven City Series, then the sixth book in my Lost Wolves series.”

Kimmers: “Tell us something about yourself that your readers may not know.”

Zoe: “I knew you were gonna ask this and I had to ask my readers for suggestions because I’m such a dork. I love to travel, and one person asked what my top three favorite inspirational locations were. I’d say number one is Aokigahara Japan. It’s also called the Suicide Forest, and it’s incredibly quiet and a little creepy. Don’t wander off the path or you’ll get lost and might die. But it was also very peaceful, and with Mt. Fuji hanging in the distance, awe-inspiring. The second is the Plaka in Athens, Greece. Every turn has another ancient wonder, and it’s a great place to wander and get lost and think. Number three is the Pacific Northwest in the US. I know! I can’t narrow it down it one place because there’s so many lovely things to do. I love hiking in rainforests along the Washington coast or through the fir and pine in Idaho. Oregon is like a nature lover’s wonderland as well.”

Kimmers: “Well it sounds like you have had some wonderful travel opportunities. I am sure your readers will be asking you more about them now.” *wink* “Let’s depart with a few quick ones. What can you not live without on a daily basis?”

Zoe: “Coffee and my cats.”

Kimmers: “Ah, coffee - yes! How do you relax?” Zoe: “Reading or watching movie reviews on YouTube.”

Kimmers: “What is your favorite drink?”

Zoe: “Coffee and wine. I can’t choose between them.”

Kimmers: “Who can?” *laughing* “What chore do you absolutely hate to do?” Zoe: “Every chore." *grinning* "Cleaning the cat box is the worst.” *ewwwww*

Kimmers: *laughing* “I think that is why I prefer dogs. This has been so fun, Zoe and I just know readers are going to scoop up Patrick and Calder’s story, especially with the tantalizing excerpt you are leaving us.”

Zoe: “I do hope they enjoy it and thank you for having me, Kimmers.”

Exclusive Excerpt of Titan Unleased - Broken Heroes Book Two

“You know how to ruin someone’s Saturday, you know that?”

Patrick pretended that didn’t sting. He hooked his other foot around Calder’s arm and twisted free. “I can make it up to you.”

Calder’s brows quirked. “Yeah? How so? I’ve got practice in ten minutes and a paper to write by Monday. And fifty pages of philosophy to read.”

Patrick made a show of reaching into his pocket and pulling out a thin vile. The liquid inside was clear. He pressed it into Calder’s palm and closed his fingers around it. “A new formula I’m testing out. Surprise me with it.”

Calder turned the vile over in his fingers. “Okay, I know you’re too straight-edge to be into anything drug-related. What does it do?”

Patrick leaned forward, catching Calder’s lips in a quick kiss before he whispered the effects in Calder’s ear.

Calder stiffened. Relaxed. “You want me to use it on you?”

“Try to catch me off guard. I could use the practice since I hardly have Titan to spar with anymore. Why? Does that scare you?” Patrick asked and nipped at Calder’s earlobe. His jaw. Dragged his lips over Calder’s chin and leaned back in Calder’s bed, the comforter rumpled, and rubbed himself through his dress pants. His toes stretched and brushed Calder’s bulge, the damn thing on full display between his sinfully spread legs.

“You fuck,” Calder grunted and stood up. “Practice in ten, and you want me to be late. I should make you come inside your pants just so you have to explain it to the dry cleaners.”

“Hn. Sounds fun. Try it,” Patrick said, licking his lips and slipping his hand over his hardening cock, the outline of it clear under the navy fabric. “Plus, you hate those guys.”

“Some of them,” Calder corrected and climbed across the bed, shedding his pants as he did so.

If Patrick could still get him in the mood this easily, Calder must not have been too upset to begin with. Good. He didn’t need a pissed boyfriend on his mind along with everything else.

Calder yanked on Patrick’s legs, pulling him closer and buried his face against the strained fabric, brushing his nose and mouth along it, the heat tantalizing and not nearly enough.

Patrick’s fingers tangled in Calder’s hair, pressing his face closer. The slow drag of his tongue brought a moan to Patrick’s lips, choked in his throat, and he arched his back into the sensation. The fabric dragged across his aroused flesh, the friction sharp, but Calder didn’t stop for long. He moved his body higher, letting Patrick grind into his chest, his hips, then his mouth was on Patrick’s and his tongue probed inside as his slick heat touched the fabric.

“You really—” Patrick managed between a strangled groan and the teeth that snagged on his bottom lip, pinching and bringing him that much closer to the edge.

“Should,” Calder growled and reached between them. “But I like feeling your dick too much.”

“And just think how oblivious you were to its power a year ago,” Patrick said, smiling as Calder’s deft fingers freed him.

Then Calder lifted his palm and held it out, and Patrick lapped at it, the flesh salty and his saliva slick. He wound a hand around Calder’s wrist to keep it there and dragged his tongue to the tip of Calder’s thick pointer finger before slowly sucking it inside.

Calder pressed his finger on Patrick’s tongue, his thumb pulling at Patrick’s bottom lip until he relented and the finger came free with an obscene pop.

“I love it when you fuck my mouth,” Patrick groaned as Calder reached between them, fingers encompassing both of their lengths and grinding down onto him.

“Just your mouth?” Calder asked, grinning like the Cheshire cat.

Patrick spread his legs, hooked them around Calder’s hips for more pressure. More anything! His fingers dug into the back of Calder’s neck. “Love it when you fuck any part of me. Every part of me.”

Title: Titan Unleased (Broken Heroes Two)

Series: Broken Heroes

Author: Zoe Perdita

Published: July 1, 2016

Publisher: Self-Published

Genre: Erotic Romance; Contemporary Romance

Length: 72,000 Words

Tags: Broken Heroes Series; Gay; M/M; Pansexual; College; BDSM; Superheroes; CW: Kidnapping; CW: Off-Page Abuse; CW: Violence

NOTE: Look for purchase links later this week at the authors available retailers, below.

BLURB:

Calder King’s life is crazy. Not only is he trying to be a normal college football player. He also hunts down terrorists with his boyfriend and fellow vigilante (Apprentice/Patrick Black), and gets to have all kinds of kinky sex both in and out of uniform. However, a secret his mom buried years ago disturbs all of that. With Patrick’s help, they can uncover what happened before Calder lost his memories, but does he really want to know the truth?

Not to mention, Calder’s alter ego, Titan, is getting harder to control. And the only thing that can temper Titan’s fury is Patrick.

Patrick Black is the perfect Apprentice.

Ever since Deacon Bishop took Patrick under his wing, he's been unfailingly loyal to Deacon as both his vigilante mentor and his guardian. Then Patrick met Calder King, and his life changed. On the surface, they should be enemies, but Patrick is learning that falling in love doesn't follow the rules of logic. They might not always agree, but in the bedroom Calder gives Patrick just what he needs — an outlet for his darkest desires.

But when Patrick Black discovers clues to the secret of Calder’s missing past, he’s torn between his loyalty to Deacon and his love for Calder. Can he choose between the man who saved his life and the boyfriend who makes it worth living?

Works by Zoe

Available at One of These Retailers

Haven City Series – Shifter/Paranormal

Lost Wolves Series – Shifter Paranormal

Author Notes: Each book stands on its own, but a lot of the characters cross over into each other’s books, and a few have arcs that go across two to three books in each series. The Black Wolves are pretty popular in the Haven City series as well as the first tow Lost Wolves books.

Zoe Perdita writes gay romance because the only thing better than one hot dude is two hot dudes making out. She lives in the Pacific Northwest with a fluffy orange cat and a lively roommate. When she's not writing, Zoe likes to travel, read and play video games.

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page