top of page

CHARACTER INTERVIEW and EXCERPT: 'Idolize' by Maggie Mundy


Today Maggie Mundy was gracious enough to let Kimmers' Erotic Book Banter chew the ear off Declan Reed from her new series Dark Storm. His book Idolize, with love interest Cassi, just released over at Evernight Publishing in late August and Maggie thought you might enjoy a little glimpse as to who Declan really is.

Hi Declan. Thanks for being here, I know you have a very busy schedule. I hope you don't mind but I must say you are very handsome. I'm a sucker for brown hair and blue eyes. Okay, I'll try to be nice. Promise. *crosses heart* First though, since you are an actor, is Declan Reed your real name?

"I'm happy to be here, Kimmers, and thank you for the compliment. I'll be sure and tell Cassi you said so." *smirks* "Yep, that's my real name. Some people who go into movies change their name, but I wanted to keep mine. I used to be known as DC in school. It was cool as I loved the comics. Hey, maybe one day I’ll get a part in one of their movies."

Do you mind if I ask how old you are? You look awfully young to be in movies.

"Not at all. I don't know if 27 is too young." *shrugs*

Me neither. And I suppose it pays in the entertainment industry to be young looking. So where are you from? Like where were you born, grew up, live? Sorry, I'm rambling.

*laughs* "I was born in Australia. I grew up on a vineyard just outside of Adelaide in South Australia. Australia is beautiful apart from the sharks, spiders, and snakes. I currently live in California, though, because of working in the movie business."

Oh, Australia. I have always wanted to visit there. Minus the "wildlife" of course. *laughs* That explains your beautiful accent. Since your new book, Idolize, is a romance who would you say you are closest to? *blushes* "And here I thought you had an accent. Of course I am closest to Cassi. She is the love of my life. It took me a while to convince her she couldn’t live without me. She didn’t even know who I was when we met."

Ahhhh, a romantic, nice! So do you believe in luck then?

"I sure do." *puffs out his chest* "If I didn’t, I would never have met Cassi. Who would have thought spraining your ankle could be so much fun."

I bet that's a story for the book, right?

*winks* "Of course!"

Speaking of fun who is your funniest friend?

"That would be my crazy brother, Jake. He is a stuntman and actor. He is always getting into trouble but has a heart of gold."

Sounds like a brother. While we're on friends What do you value most in your friends?

"Loyalty and honesty. Don’t mess me around, though. I have a long memory and have been known to hold a grudge."

Okay, I will try and remember that. *giggles* Let's get a little heavy for a minute. What would you say is your biggest fear?

"If those close to me were hurt."

Man, I am so on board with that. I turn into a momma bear if someone messes with those close to me. So, from fear to - what is your greatest regret?

"That I wasn’t around for Cassi when she was going through some of the crap in her life. Her family didn’t stand by her, and she was alone. My family had rough times too, but we stuck together."

Sticking together is so important. You seem to be pretty loyal and upstanding but would you ever lie to someone?

"Only to save a life or to protect someone." Good answer! How about one last one which I think you might like?

"Let's do it!"

What would you do to save someone you love? "Oh, that's easy. I would do anything! Give a kidney if needed. Isn’t that what love is all about."

Of course it is!

Thanks again for letting us bend your ear today Declan. It was such a pleasure to meet you and I hope many of our readers will reach out and read about how you captured Cassi's heart.

"I hope so too, Kimmers, it's a great story! Oh, and to entice them a tad bit more Maggie let me bring an excerpt for you today."

You can’t be found if no one knows where you are.

EXCERPT: Cassi knew it was the brandy talking, but when would she have a Hollywood actor captive in a cabin again? He put his glass down and raised one eyebrow as he peered at her. Then he patted the couch in front of him. Okay, she had drunk two big brandies, but what was he suggesting here?

He placed a finger under her chin and lifted it so she gazed in his eyes. She gulped. He didn’t need to say anything. She would kiss him anyway. All he needed to do was ask.

“When you left that day, you took part of me with you. I’ve been looking around and meeting other people and other women trying to find it. I was a fool to let you go then. Now you’re here, Cassi, I’m not going to let you go without telling you how much I care.”

His face was close as his palm cupped her cheek. Her mouth hung open and she felt a strong ache between her legs showing the need for physical contact she had not received for so long. She could feel his breath on her lips. His eyes connected with hers and then moved down to her lips. He ran his thumb along her lower lip and she moved forward. She knew this wasn’t real and something he had rehearsed, but didn’t care. He only had to say the word and she would have sex with him all night long. He didn’t say anything more, but their lips almost touched. Then he moved away.

Breathe.

“It’s a scene from our next episode. It doesn’t turn out well as she’s a vampire and sells me out. I get back at her through some crazy ritual, though. Sorry I took the advantage by adding your name.”

Declan was still holding his palm against her cheek and she didn’t want him to move away.

“You’re good.” He was more than good as she was putty in his hands right now.

Title: Idolize

Series: Dark Storm Book One

Author: Maggie Mundy

Published: August 27, 2016

Cover Artist: Jay Aheer/Jays Covers By Design

Genre: Erotic Romance; Contemporary Romance

Length: 187 Pages

Tags: Heterosexual; M/F; Suspense

BLURB:

Cassi moved to LA to escape a violent past and wants anonymity for herself and her son. She is starting to get her life back on track when she meets Declan Reed. He is latest hit on the Hollywood scene, playing the lead in the TV series Dark Storm. She gets the love of a TV star and the fame that comes with it causes her past to come back and haunt her with what could be fatal consequences.

I live in Adelaide, Australia with my husband, one cat, two dogs and a snake. I have a motorbike that I would like to ride more than I do and I love walking at the beach and listening to the waves. I've always loved reading all forms of fiction from high fantasy and paranormal to contemporary and decided the stories in my head needed to be written down. It was either that or start on medication. Unlike many, I didn’t know I wanted to be a writer until a few years back. I started off doing a degree in drama but soon realized my love was in writing, though there is a play lurking somewhere on my computer. My day job is as a nurse in the operating room. I believe romance can be fun to read and write but it’s exciting to spice it up with the uncertainty that comes with suspense where the rules can be broken.

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page