top of page

GUEST POST, RELEASE DAY REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW, and GIVEAWAY: Taylor V. Donovan, Author of &#39


Title: Six Degrees of Lust

Series: By Degrees Book 1

Author: Taylor V. Donovan

Published: January 2, 2017 - 2nd Edition

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press

Cover Artist: L.C. Chase

Genre: Contemporary Romance; Erotic Romance

Length: 350 Pages

Tags: Gay; M/M; Bisexual; Suspense; Mystery; Cops; Angst: Moderate; HFN; CW: Off Page Murder; CW: Off Page Sexual Assault

About Six Degrees of Lust

New York City FBI team leader Samuel Shaughnessy lives for his immediate family and his job. After a marriage gone wrong he has stuck to a firm rule when it comes to relationships: he doesn't have them. Sexually active and emotionally unavailable keeps him satisfied, especially now that he is in hot pursuit of a serial killer targeting gay men.

Former firefighter Machlan O'Bannon now manages a successful sports bar in Houston and after years of waiting he's ready to stand up and be the man he always wanted to be: out, proud and drama-free. His politically-aligned family wants to keep him locked in the closet, but Mac just wants to meet the man of his dreams.

One man is as high strung as the other is laid back. A chance meeting brings the two men together, and one night of passion ignites a fire neither can fight. Their lives are not only miles apart, but as different as day and night. They don't want to get involved,but they might not be able to keep apart.

First Edition published by MLR Press, December 2011.

Hello everyone. For those of you who don’t know me, my name’s Taylor and I’m an author of gay romance and suspense. Today I’m here to introduce you guys to SSA Shaughnessy, the main character of Six Degrees of Lust, the first installment in my By Degrees series, which is romantic suspense featuring a serial killer of gay men and the FBI team leader trying to catch him. A huge thank you to Kimmers’ Erotic Book Banter for hosting me.

This is a quick-fire interview I did with the leader of said FBI team when we started working together in 2010. Enjoy!

Name: Samuel G. Shaughnessy. People call me Sam or asshole. It depends who you ask. Age: I’m thirty-two. Height: six-foot-three. Birth Place: Queens, New York. Hair: Black. Eyes: Blue. Dominant Character Trait: I’m assertive and determined. Secondary Character Trait: Can be a tad authoritarian as well. Best Friend, From Childhood: His name’s Tommy. He’s been living in Los Angeles since we were eighteen. Went away to college and never came back. I see him a few times a year, though.

Current Best Friend: My boy Yu. Well, his name is Logan but I call him Yu because he’s absolutely obsessed with the Yu Yu Hakusho manga series. We work together. I love him to death. Other Friends: My teammates. Duncan, Kostas, Bobbie and Emiko, even though they all can be raging bitches and totally get on my nerves. Enemies: You tell me. Family: Dad's gone. I have my mom, my sister Sandy, and my nephew, Nicky. Sees Self As: Systematic but flexible. Persistent. Demanding…practical. Seen By Others As: That depends on who you mean by others... Temper: Yeah... have a short fuse sometimes. Basic Nature: Honest to a fault. Educational Background: Degree in Criminal Justice. Work Experience: Couple of years with NYPD—first as a beat cop, then was transferred to Vice. Been with the FBI for nine years. Talents: Do you have all day for this? Because I don't. Tattoos: Yes. Piercings: Yes. Lives With: No one. Relationship History: Long string of one-nighters. The rest is none of your business. Sexual Orientation: Bisexual Position With The FBI: Supervisory Special Agent. In other words, I’m the boss. Marital Status: Single, not interested in mingling. Children: No. Favorite Pig Out Food: Antipasto Favorite Music: I like rock for the most part. The classics... ACDC, Metallica, Pearl Jam... Nobody Would Believe Me If I Told Them: I miss being married. I Wish I Could Stop: Running away from the person I need to beg for forgiveness. Worst Part Of My Life: Going through it convinced that I don’t deserve happiness. What Makes Me Likable: Everything. I mean, what's not to like? What Makes Me Lovable: Nothing, really. A Good Time For Me Is: Rock climbing with Nick and Yu Yu. Worst Advice I Ever Received: Just wait—time cures everything. Cures everything, my ass. When I Feel Sorry For Myself I: Never do. I Thought I Was A Grown Up When: Owned up to a mistake and did right by someone else. Pet Peeves: People who snap their gum. Endearments from strangers. People who stare at me after I’ve clearly already answered their question, as if they expect for me to elaborate... should I keep going? My Friends Like Me Because: I'm always straight up with them. Major Accomplishment: Putting this fine team together. I Can Die Happy When: That is such a fucking oxymoron. Life Philosophy: Never let what you can't change interfere with what you can do.

And there you have it, a little taste of SSA Shaughnessy, from Six Degrees of Lust, coming at you today from Dreamspinner press. If you’re into romantic suspense and ensemble casts, go get your copy right now!

Xoxo

Taylor

GIVEAWAY: Comment to WIN!

P.S. I’ve brought some copies to give away. In the comments below let me know what your criminal investigations TV show is, or your favourite serial killer book or movie, and you’ll be entered for a chance to win a set of signed paperbacks of the Second Edition of Six Degrees of Lust and Six Degrees of Separation, and one electronic set.

P.S.S. Six Degrees of Lust, Second Edition, releases today. If you read the first version, I’d still recommend you get this one as well, as some characters were fleshed out and, even though the story arc remains basically the same, there are tweaks foreshadowing events in Six Degrees of Separation, which in turn leads to events in Six Degrees of Agony, finally coming to you late 2017.

Good luck!

Dreamspinner Press: eBook Paperback

About the Author

Taylor V. Donovan is a compulsive reader and author of gay romance and suspense. She is optimistically cynical about humanity and a lover of history, museums, and all things 80s. She shamelessly indulges in mind-numbing reality television, is crazy about fashion, and passionate about civil rights and equality for all.

When she’s not writing or making a living in the busiest city in the world, Taylor can be found raising her two daughters and their terribly misbehaved furry baby in their home.

For more of Taylor’s works be sure and visit her website.

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page