top of page

CHARACTER INTERVIEW and EXCLUSIVE EXCERPT with REVIEW: 'Across the Sea' by Wayne Mansfield


Title: Across the Sea

Author: Wayne Mansfield

Published: July 24, 2016

Publisher: JMS Books LLC

Genre: Historical Romance; Erotic Romance

Length: 135 Pages

Tags: Gay; M/M; Historical; Novella; Age Difference

About Across the Sea

Twenty-two-year-old Jacob Tomkins is sentenced to seven years’ labour in the fledgling colony of Sydney Town, Australia. The voyage across the sea is arduous. He is traveling with mean, street-hardened criminals, some of whom would like to use him for their pleasure.

Fortunately he meets Peter, who takes Jacob under his wing. Together they find moments of pleasure amid the drudgery of the voyage. They share their hopes and dreams, and finally declare their love for each other upon the eve of their arrival in Sydney Town -- a place where the currency is rum, distilled and controlled by the powerful military.

But what will happen once they disembark? The chances of remaining together are slim. A lot can happen in seven years, especially when Jacob’s new master takes a liking to him. Is their love strong enough to survive the ravages of time? Can they survive the rigors of their sentences?

Hi Banter Followers!

I'm so very excited today. Wayne Mansfield allowed me a few moments to chat with Jacob Tomkins from his novel Across the Sea. Having really enjoyed his story this is a great thrill to get such an opportunity. Before I chat with Jacob allow me to give you some background. Jacob Tomkins is a twenty-three-year old convict, who has just arrived in the British colony of Sydney Town, Australia. He was convicted of stealing five apples and sentenced to seven years’ servitude in Australia. It is the morning of Thursday, 5th of May, 1803.

Jay:

Good morning, Jacob. How are you?

Jacob:

Well enough.

Jay:

Do I smell vinegar?

Jacob:

You do. We’ve just been doused in the stuff to get rid of the lice, and whatever else we've picked up.

Jay:

You recently spent several months aboard The Poseidon. What was it like?

Jacob:

Awful. I can’t think of any other word for it. I’ll never forget how bad it smelled, and the lice and the filth. No one should have to live like that. I wouldn’t keep a dog in such conditions. Makes me sick thinking about it.

Jay:

But you survived when others didn’t.

Jacob:

Yeah. But I reckon it’s only because of Peter. I wouldn’t have made it otherwise.

Jay:

Ah yes, Peter Hawthorne. Your gentleman friend.

Jacob:

We’re more than that. Much more.

Jay:

Let’s talk about him for a moment. What attracted you to him?

Jacob:

I reckon it was his looks. At first. He was so masculine. A real man, with muscles and a beard. I was only a boy compared to him. Then he kind of took me under his wing and protected me. He was kind to me, and looked out for me. There were some pretty rough blokes in there with us, but he made sure nothing bad ever happened to me. When someone looks out for you like that, shows you that they care, you kinda grow to like them.

Jay:

You fell in love with him?

Jacob:

I did. Not sure when. Maybe the first time I saw him, in a way. I couldn’t take my eyes off him, though I tried not to let him catch me looking. I knew for certain I was in love with him a bit later. One day, we were sitting together on his bunk. I was looking at him while he was talking to me, and I knew I loved him. I knew that if I didn’t have him in my life, I might die. It kinda scared me a bit.

Jay:

Was he your first love?

Jacob:

Not sure what you mean. I love my family. My mother is the person I love the most, and my brothers and my sister. But I reckon that’s a different sort of love, isn’t it? If you’re talking about being in love, the answer is yes. He was also the first man to, you know, have me.

Jay:

You were a virgin?

Jacob:

No, not a virgin. I’d coupled before. Twice. With girls. I didn’t really enjoy it and wasn’t sure why. Everybody else seemed to love it.

Jay:

So you knew then that you preferred men?

Jacob:

Didn’t give it a second’s thought. Never had time. I worked every day for ten hours in a factory. Then I went home to help Mam with my brothers and sister. Even when I had time, I was always so tired I just slept. You see, my father was a drunkard. Useless. I was glad when he left us. Probably long dead in a gutter by now. After he left, I became the man of the family.

Jay:

How long has it been since you’ve had word from your mother?

Jacob:

Haven’t seen nor heard from Mam since the last time I saw her, back home in England. She’s probably worried sick about me, but so am I worried about her. I think about them all the time, wondering what’s to become of them. Are they alright? Who’s taking care of them?

Jay:

Your brothers?

Jacob:

One of them should be, probably Jack. Although Horatio’s old enough to work. Both of them will probably have had to find jobs. I only hope they don’t do anything stupid like I did, and end up here. And by that, I mean get caught.

Jay:

How do you find Sydney Town?

Jacob:

I haven’t been here long. Only arrived last night. Compared to London, it seems like paradise. Everything’s so clean and the air is fresh. Not many buildings and lots of trees. The colours are different and there’s lots of strange noises coming from the bush, but I reckon I could get to like it here. But that depends.

Jay:

On what?

Jacob:

On whether Peter and I get separated. Some time soon, maybe even today, we’re going to be allocated to free settlers, or worse, become government men – working on roads, and building bridges, and public buildings. I’ve been told I don’t want to end up doing that. Early mornings, long days, back-breaking labour. I’m terrified I’ll end up doing that. But even worse is the thought of being separated from Peter.

Jay:

Is it likely to happen?

Jacob:

I dunno. I reckon anything’s likely. He’s stronger and hardier than me. He’ll be chosen for farm work or the like. Me, I’m skinny. Not much meat on my bones. Can’t see any free settler taking me on. And there’s no factories here to work in. I only hope I don’t become a government man.

Jay:

Finally, if you could have one wish, what would it be?

Jacob:

That’s easy. I’d wish for two more wishes. The first wish would be to be with Peter, now and forever. The second wish would be for my family to be here, with me. We wouldn’t have much more than we had back in England, but everything is fresher, cleaner and healthier here. And if I wasn’t so worried about being parted from Peter, I’d say there was also an exciting sense of possibility.

Jay:

Jacob, I want to thank you for talking to me. All the best for the future, and good luck with Peter.

Jacob:

Thanks. Hey, you couldn’t put a good word in for us, could you?

Jay:

I’ll try. Not that it’ll do much good.

Jacob:

Thank you. Oh, and here's an excerpt Wayne wanted me to share with your readers. I hope they read our story.

Jay:

Very nice of you both. I also hope they might check out my 5 HEART read recommendation of Across the Sea!

The stench below decks assaulted Jacob’s nostrils even before he’d reached the bottom of the steps. A sudden and powerful wave of nausea swept over him and he struggled to keep down whatever contents were in his stomach. The single file of men shuffling back to their bunks was silent. Jacob had no doubt they were experiencing the very same struggle.

He made up his bed and then sat at the foot of his bunk, staring up at the deck. Why did you do it? he wondered. What good has it done? Not only had Peter acted foolishly, unnecessarily, but he’d earned himself fifty lashes for his efforts.

As if his thoughts had been the trigger to commence the punishment, he heard the crack of a whip. He pictured the thin red slash across Peter’s back. His eyes filled with tears when he thought of the forty-nine lashes yet to come. Another crack. But no cries. He knew Peter would never let them hear him cry out. He knew enough of Peter to know he’d take his punishment courageously.

Someone rested their hand on his shoulder, jolting him from his thoughts.

“Hello, boy.”

It was McCready, a solid, muscular man whose facial features had been put together in such a way that he looked every bit as mean as he was. He was wearing a lecherous smile and rubbing the front of his trousers with the palm of his hand. Jacob hadn’t meant to look, but his eyes automatically went to the man’s crotch. In the dim light filtering down through the ventilator, he saw a large bulge, and when McCready hooked his fingers into the top of his pants, Jacob felt his blood start to boil. His hands became fists.

“Get away from me!” he bellowed.

McCready recoiled. His jaw dropped open and his eyes bulged. He quickly, nervously, looked around the cell, and saw he had the attention of every man in it. His hand came away from his crotch. He glared at Jacob, leaning down until his face was only inches away. His breath reeked.

“You’ll get yers,” he snarled in his Scottish brogue before skulking off into the shadows.

Jacob’s heart was pounding. He could feel a vein throbbing in his temple. He’d managed to stave off McCready’s attention this time, but he’d been lucky. He’d taken the man by surprise, embarrassed him in front of the other convicts. He knew he wouldn’t be so lucky next time. He had neither the strength to overpower McCready, nor any avenue of escape.

Jacob crawled into his bunk and lay on his back. He listened to the whip cracking over and over and over. After Peter had received his fifty lashes, Collins would receive his. They’d both be taken to the infirmary and when they’d recovered, Collins would be sent back to the cell and Peter would begin his time in the stocks. Either way, Jacob would have to take care of himself for at least another twenty-four hours.

Fortunately, the rest of the day passed without any further incident. It was the long night ahead that bothered him.

The bunks were narrow, one atop the other. A man called Thomas slept in the bunk above him. To Jacob’s right was a man called Albert and to his left, an Irishman named Collum. He acknowledged both of them as he crawled into his bunk that evening, exhausted after an eventful day. The minute his head hit the pillow, his eyelids grew heavy. Fortunately, sleep was quick to arrive.

At some point during the night he woke up. The second he opened his eyes he discovered why. There was someone in the bunk with him. He pushed and kicked, and felt whoever it was knock into Albert. A hand came from behind to cover his mouth. There were two of them.

Barnes & Noble: eBook; Paperback

Amazon: eBook; Paperback

About the Author

Wayne Mansfield was born and raised in rural Western Australia. As a boy, Wayne and his family moved around quite a bit and he attended two different kindergartens, three different primary schools and two high schools. He graduated from university as a primary school teacher and also has a Diploma in Counseling. He currently resides and works in Perth, Western Australia. The bulk of his books, novellas and stories have been published by JMS Books ("The King's Consort", "The Hiding Place", "Cool Blue", "Six Numbers" and "Changelings"). Always at the top of his English classes, Wayne first began as a published writer by contributing poems to the local community newspaper when he was in high school. Throughout university he wrote for fun, including "an awful Jackie Collins-type novel set in places I'd only read about or seen in movies". Some time after graduating he began writing short horror stories, a few of which were published in the types of magazines "...only purchased by the people who were published in them and their friends". He then progressed to writing gay erotica and was more successful . Most of his stories and novellas of the past six or seven years have combined his love of horror, science-fiction and fantasy with gay erotica / romance. Occasionally, he also writes more mainstream romance. He enjoys the books of Neil Gaiman, Michael Crichton and Clive Barker. ​ Facebook; Goodreads; Tumblr; Amazon

For more works by Wayne visit his website.

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page