top of page

REVIEW: 'Touchdown' by T.S. McKinney


Title: Touchdown

Series: Gameday Book 1

Author: T.S. McKinney

Published: September 7, 2016

Publisher: Painted Hearts Publishing (Previously Dark Hollows Press, LLC)

Cover Artist: E. Connors

Genre: Contemporary Romance; Erotic Romance; New Adult

Length: 217 Pages

Tags: Gay; M/M; Bisexual; BDSM; D/s; GFY; Athlete/Sport: Football; College; Coming Out; Family Drama; Self-Discovery; CW: Sounding, Anal Toys

About Touchdown

Alexander Bryant has lived his entire life making everyone else happy. After meeting Lincoln, will he have the courage to finally do what makes him happy? Alexander – I like to imagine myself a rebel – an ass-kicker that takes what he wants regardless of what others think. I make my own path and flip off the people who don’t agree. I laugh in the face of conflict. Nobody tells me what to do.

In reality, everything about me is a lie – past, present, and future. The Bryant name requires certain things and all my decisions are based on those requirements. I like football, but the family name demands I love it. I want to be an artist, but the family name demands I be a lawyer. The family demands I fall in love with a nice girl, but I’m falling for, well, the opposite of nice AND girl. I’m a coward and a liar. Lincoln – I like to imagine myself a loner – a cold heartless bastard that takes what he wants. I lived the biggest part of my life with parents that were ashamed of me for more reasons that one could begin to count, so I trust no one.

I have a low tolerance for bullshit and hate liars.

So why did I go and fall in love with the biggest liar of them all?

4 HEART READ

REVIEW: Denial, Merriam-Webster defines it as: refusal to satisfy a request or desire. Courage, is defined as: mental or moral strength to venture, persevere, and withstand danger, fear, or difficulty. Both of these words were forefront in my mind as I read Touchdown by T.S. McKinney, the first book in her Gameday series. Alexander Bryant is chalk full of both!

From "old money”, and upholding family tradition, Alex is following in his father and grandfather’s footsteps. As quarterback for Alabama Temple he is guiding his team to the national championships his senior year of college. But this is not the Alex he wants to be.

A chance encounter with Lincoln (the owner/Dom at a BDSM club) one night places heterosexual Alex in a compromising position and provides him an escape he never knew existed, but one he desperately needs; and leaves him with more questions about himself than answers.

His body knows what it wants but his head can’t agree.

Now that Lincoln has his attention he’s determined not to let Alex go – and Lincoln always gets what he wants. But at the same time he wants to run – knows he should run! Because what Alex is about to embark upon could have disastrous consequences and tackle them both.

When Lincoln gets Alex in his playroom the QB is about to be schooled on his feelings and his sexuality. Because Lincoln knows!

"What do you want me to do, Alexander? Say it for me. Look at my hand, Alexander. I need you to know who is touching you. You may hide on the outside, but when in here, you own this. Understand?”

The way they flirt with one another, Lincoln’s confident cockiness and Alex’s hesitant, sarcastic determination, is delightful. When Alex decides he might actually be interested in the “adult roll playing game” of BDSM, I about fell off my chair in hysterics. Not to mention the sass he gives Lincoln. Damn, you just know what’s coming when you mouth off to a Dom. And the honesty with which he relates to Lincoln is refreshing:

“Are you about to try and kiss me?”

“How does that make you feel?” Lincoln responds.

“I…I think it’s going to be gross.”

When Alex opens himself, his mind and his body, it’s with full gusto! He goes in head long taking to submission like a duck to water and dodging not one play.

Although as an outsider he appears to take to this change in himself and the lifestyle, quite quickly, it’s as if he had been looking for where he belonged and you feel immense hope for him.

When truths are finally revealed Alex and Lincoln have to go on the offense, open up to their desire, and fight like hell because their secret feelings, and lying to themselves, all their presumptions of what the other wants and doesn’t want, have created a monster bent on destroying Alex.

Touchdown is a tale of how those who should love us the most, protect us, be there for us can force us to be someone we are not and dig the knife, killing us more slowly than a murderer. Sometimes our fears are manifested so deeply we’re unable to see the forest for the trees. Yet those hurting us can at times hide the deepest secrets.

It’s a story full of emotion, ladled with wit, sarcasm and charm, and reflects how the simple desire for another human being can give us the courage and determination to go after what we really want in life and be who we truly are meant to be.

Touchdown will leave you missing Alex and Lincoln after the very last turn of the page.

There is a wee bit of past with present tense going on throughout this read, sometimes within the same sentence and I only mention this because for me as a reader it took me out of being completely submersed in what I was reading at times. But don’t let this dissuade you from picking Touchdown up because you will be missing out on a fantastic story that has a great balance between points of view and propels the relationship of these two deserving men along beautifully!

Not to mention there are awesome, well developed supporting characters. Some of whom I am anxiously awaiting them getting their own tale.

An copy of Touchdown was provided to Kimmers’ Erotic Book Banter, by T.S. McKinney, at no cost and with no expectations in return. We offer our fair and honest opinion on behalf of our readers.

Now through May 13, 2017 you can pick up Touchdown, along with 5 other titles, for just $10.00!

As part of our M/M Contemporary Pack 2 Benefit Bundle you will also be aiding The Trevor Project with your purchase.

Meet the Author

I have spent my entire life reading, reading, and reading some more! I love to get lost in the land of fantasy where I can be as naughty as I like without facing too many penalties! Earlier this year, I decided that maybe I should try writing my own naughty stories. That way I can do wickedly delightful things to my imaginary boyfriends without serving any serious jail time! My publishing company, Painted Hearts Publishing, has been awesome and most patient when dealing with their newbie.

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page