top of page

BANTER BUDDIES: A Dual View of Bey Deckard's 'Fated: Blood and Redemption'


Trio and I jumped at the chance to review the audio edition of Fated: Blood and Redemption by the amazingly talented Bey Deckard. The Baal’s Heart series has been a long time favorite of mine since it’s debut in 2014. We both agree that Tom is one of our favorite main characters in the series.

If you’re a fan of adventure, romance, suspense, action, erotica, and amazing storytelling then look no further. Author Bey Deckard and narrator Michael Ferraiuolo team up to completely hypnotize you.

You must give this series a try! Happy listening. Tracy

Title: Fated: Blood and Redemption

Series: Baal’s Heart #3

Author: Bey Deckard

Narrator: Michael Ferraiuolo/Iron Works Studios

Published: April 11, 2015

Audio: August 10, 2017

Publisher: Self-Published Genre: Historical Romance; Dark Erotic Romance; Adventure Romance; Historical Fantasy

Length: 401 Pages/13 Hours and 2 Minutes

Tags: Gay; M/M; Menage; M/M/M; BDSM; D/s; Established Couple(s); Pirates; HFN; Audiobook; Kink (Various); CW: Murder, Torture, Rape, Violence

(They’re Pirates)

About Fated: Blood and Redemption With the captain’s mind in shambles, Jon and Tom set out to find the passage home through the black mountain range, hoping to find a cure for Baltsaros’s madness. However, when the men are forced to part ways, darkness takes root in the schism created; fate, lust, and vengeance become obsessions threatening to tear apart the fragile bonds holding the three together.

Following on the heels of Sacrificed, Fated takes the pirates on a quest to find those responsible for the captain’s bloody beginnings. But can they survive what awaits them where past and present meet?

***SPOILER NOTICE: Trio and I do not feel that our descriptions are going to spoil any of the enjoyment of this series for you. If you are following the Baal's Heart series you know these men. But, please, judge for yourself before moving on.***

Favorite Main Character

Tracy: Tom has truly evolved over the series and it’s at once beautiful and heartbreaking. To learn about all the abuse he suffered as a slave was definitely hard. But he truly comes into his own and begins to care about the people around him. Trio: I have to agree with Tracy, I’m a card carrying member of Team Tom. Damn, just the way he puts it all out there… you never wonder how he’s feeling or thinking. When he asks Jon, “'Is it gonna be like last time?'” poor Jon, he’s a little out of his depth here. Don’t over think it… Tom’s just that kinda guy.

I appreciated the depth Tom shows in his character when he stays with the dying crew member; that is an incredibly moving scene. And I had all kinds of warm for him over the lengths he goes in constructing the new arm/hand for Katherine. Who wouldn’t want a man like that in their lives? That he’s hella kinky is good too.

Favorite secondary character:

Tracy: I’m going to have to say Katherine. I’ve always loved a strong female character and Kat definitely fits the bill. Even with her injury she still is part of the crew and does her part to the best of her ability. I really love seeing how Tom and Kat seem to have overcome their differences.

Trio: I was intrigued by Saban and I really hope we get a story about him. His reactions to displays of affection between Tom and Jon are so interesting *wink*. There is so much more to explore with him; he is clearly aroused by watching the guys.

Favorite endearment:

Tracy: Tom calling Jon “lovey”. On a personal note my nickname for certain people is “lovey” and it brought a smile to my face every time I heard Tom say the word. I guess I can imagine he is speaking to me! :)

Trio: Me too, I love when Tom calls Jon “lovey”. Though Baltsaros calling Tom his “Tom Cat” is mighty sweet too.

Favorite scene:

Tracy: Ahhh there are so many of them. But if I had to narrow it down it has to be the scene in which Tom willingly “submits” to Baltsaros. It is madly erotic and I was left breathless.

Trio: I’m going to have to go with the final scene in the book. Without spoiling it for anyone I can say that Jon turns the tables nicely, and it’s a scene I won’t be forgetting any time soon.

Favorite quote:

Tracy: One of my favorite scenes is when Kat sees Jon for the first time and jokes about the little hairs sprouting on his face! I think she says something like, “‘Your balls have finally dropped.’” That was hilarious!

Trio: For me it's when Jon realizes Tom’s history with Saban (after he’s propositioned Saban) and Tom tells him Jon does all his thinking with his heart and not his cock, “'It ain’t a bad thing. Just a thing.'” Tom truly accepts Jon for who he is and shows his love for him in the sweetest ways.

Best flashback or revisit of a scene from another perspective:

Tracy: So many scenes! I have to say I enjoyed the flashbacks from Tom’s perspective when he first meets Captain Baltsaros. He is so adamant that Baltsaros will never “have” him properly.

Trio: Oh, when Jon oversleeps and doesn’t get to say good-bye to Baltsaros, he punishes Tom by not letting him come. Then we get Tom’s take on it and he’s pleased, both by being able to give Jon pleasure, but also with Jon’s show of dominance.

There were so many flashbacks in this one and I’m not sure I’d say it’s from ‘another perspective’ but I love the early scenes between Tom and the Captain. When Tom creeps into Baltsaros’ room and seduces him for the first time. Even lovelier was when Baltsaros binds Tom for the first time, his submission is so beautiful, and he calls him "Da". Baltsaros’ reaction is classic.

What type of reader would you recommend this book to?

Tracy: I think this series will appeal to readers who love adventure, pirates, historicals, triads, and D/s.

Trio: This series is a must for all fans of Bey Deckard’s writing but it will also appeal to readers who like steampunk, pirate action/adventure, and dark and erotic M/M stories.

This book made me:

Tracy: Anxious for more. Please Mr. Deckard our boys are demanding another story!

Trio: I’m dying to reread the series, but I’ll probably get the first two books in audio now.

For purchase links, excerpt, meet the authors, and more...visit our review recommendation links above.

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page