top of page

BLOG TOUR with GIVEAWAY, EXCLUSIVE CHARACTER INTERVIEW, EXCERPT, and REVIEW: 'Taming the Beast&#


Title: Taming the Beast

Series: Tales from St. Giles #1

Author: Andrew Grey

Published: October 13, 2017

Cover Artist: Paul Richmond/Paul Richmond Studio

Genre: Contemporary Romance; Erotic Romance

Length: 200 Pages

Tags: Gay; M/M; Comfort/Hurt; Children; HEA; CW: Mental Illness, Substance Abuse ; Standalone

About Taming the Beast

The suspicious death of Dante Bartholomew’s wife changed him, especially in the eyes of the residents of St. Giles. They no longer see a successful businessman… only a monster they believe was involved. Dante’s horrific reputation eclipses the truth to the point that he sees no choice but to isolate himself and his heart.

The plan backfires when he meets counselor Beau Clarity and the children he works with. Beau and the kids see beyond the beastly reputation to the beautiful soul inside Dante, and Dante’s cold heart begins to thaw as they slip past his defenses. The warmth and hope Beau brings to Dante’s life help him see his entire existence—his trials and sorrows—in a brighter light.

But Dante’s secrets could rip happiness from their grasp… especially since someone isn’t above hurting those Dante has grown to love in order to bring him down.

There was a wave of silence as the collective talking came to a stop and all heads turned toward him at the same time. One of the waiters approached, and Dante took a glass of champagne from the tray, thanked him, and continued on through the room. He’d known it would be like this and had been stupid to even bother coming. The town rumor mill had had plenty to feed itself on over the years, and it seemed the stories had gotten bigger with each retelling.

“It will be all right,” Yates said as he came up and stood next to him.

“Do you think I care what these people think?” Dante asked, then drank, emptying half the glass. “God, this stuff is awful.” He set the glass on a nearby tray. “Is there a bar?” He hoped so. Maybe two or three double whiskies would do the trick.

“Yes. It’s in the room off to the side over there.”

Yates seemed exasperated as Dante stomped off to get himself something that would make this night tolerable. There was a line, but it evaporated when people saw him, and he practically walked up to the bar. He ordered and paid for his drinks, placed a nice tip in the jar, and left the room before the whispers could start. For two years he’d stayed away, putting on a brave front, but…. Dante raised the glass to his lips, downed the first of his scotches, and set the glass aside. He held the second one, intending to sip it for a while.

The waves of people seemed to part, and Dante got a glimpse of a brown-haired man with intense blue eyes standing on the other side of the room. His nose was crooked and he was a little gawky. Handsome wasn’t a word that Dante would have used to describe him. He had seen better looking men, but few with the intensity and drive that churned in those blue orbs. His tuxedo looked at least one size too big for him, and his shirt was a little wrinkled. Dante barely noticed. What he saw were those fiery eyes and a pair of lips turned up in a smile as he spoke to the short lady in front of him. Dante had seen plenty of beautiful people, but few of them captured his attention the way this man did.

“Yates,” Dante asked as his lawyer passed nearby, tugging him off his path. “Who is he?” Dante didn’t dare take his gaze off him for fear that he was an illusion and would disappear into the crowd and Dante would never see him again.

“Beau Clarity. He runs one of the programs at the Center. That’s the reason for tonight’s fundraiser. We’re expanding counseling services here, and he runs the program.” Yates brushed something off Dante’s arm.

“How is that possible? He looks like….” Words escaped him. An angel, or maybe it was the devil himself in an ill-fitting suit but with a nose and face that stopped Dante in his tracks. Beau chuckled and then laughed, adding to the glitter of the evening with the joy in his eyes.

 

After reading Taming the Beast I was tickled pink that Andrew Grey allowed me a few moments to shoot some quick fire questions at Dante. I found him to be such an intriguing character that I couldn't help but want to know more.

Background/Physical Characteristics Questions:

  • What is your legal name? Dante Bartholomew

  • What sex do you identify as? Male

  • What is your sexual orientation? Gay I guess or at least mostly.

  • What color are your eyes? Brown

  • Describe your hair: Short, business like.

  • Do you have any distinguishing facial features? I like to think I’m handsome, but its only gotten me in trouble.

  • What is your skin type/tone? Southern European

  • Do you have any interesting physical characteristics? Broad and strong.

  • Where were you born? St. Giles, Maryland

  • Where have you lived? I live in St. Giles, but escape to Europe on business trips.

General Questions:

  • In what situation is your self esteem most at risk? Admitting failure.

  • What are you keeping a secret? I don’t want to talk about that. Its too personal for an interview.

  • What are you lying to yourself about? That I’m happy and can live with my past.

  • What are you lying to others about? Putting on a beastly front to keep others at bay.

  • When you walk into a room what do you notice first? Everyone staring at me. I hate it, but I suppose that comes with my reputation.

  • How would you change the world? I already do in my own way, through the Bartholomew foundation.

  • How would you change the things and the people around you? I’d get them to leave me alone.

  • What are your goals in life? To try to be happy and get some peace. Maybe it's time for another trip abroad.

  • What unusual hobbies or interests do you have? I work.... a lot.

  • What are you most afraid of? The truth about my past. What if I really am as beastly as they think I am?

  • If you had one wish, what would it be? To undo my decision to give into my father and marry Alison. All I did was make both of us miserable.

  • What’s your greatest source of frustration? That people won’t leave me alone.

  • What’s your greatest source of joy? I hate to admit it, but the children in Beau’s therapy group.

  • What are you especially proud of in your life? The good work my foundation does.

  • If you could change anything about your life what would it be? I’d have told my father to go screw himself and lived my life the way I wanted.

Relationship Questions:

  • Is there anyone in your life that you are attracted to? Beau Clarity

  • What scares you about this person? He has the ability to see who I am. That’s frightening. What if I’m not good enough? What if I truly am the beast they think I am?

  • What do you think he can do for you that no one else can? Get under the walls I’ve built.

  • What does this person know about you that no one else does? God I don’t know and that;s frightening enough as it is.

  • What is your perfect date? I don’t know. I suppose the important thing is what is Beau’s favorite date. If I knew that, I’d make it happen.

  • How do you decide if you can trust someone? If I knew that, I’d be able to let go of my damn past.

  • How do you know you love someone? I suppose when I can confide the worst thing I’ve ever done. Of course he could hate me for it.

  • What parts of loving comes easy to you and what parts come hard? Nothing ever comes easy. Not for me.

  • What do you most value in your friends? Privacy and discretion.

Lastly:

  • What do you want to share with us? That I may just have been lucky enough to have found my beauty.

 

Meet the Author

Andrew grew up in western Michigan with a father who loved to tell stories and a mother who loved to read them. Since then he has lived throughout the country and traveled throughout the world. He has a master’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and works in information systems for a large corporation.

Andrew’s hobbies include collecting antiques, gardening, and leaving his dirty dishes anywhere but in the sink (particularly when writing) He considers himself blessed with an accepting family, fantastic friends, and the world’s most supportive and loving partner. Andrew currently lives in beautiful, historic Carlisle, Pennsylvania.

For more from Andrew be sure and visit his website.

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page