top of page

REVIEW: 'Santa's Sack' by Sean Kerr


Title: Santa’s Sack

Author: Sean Kerr

Published: December 19, 2017

Publisher: eXtasy Books

Cover Artist: Angela Waters/Romance Novel Center

Genre: Contemporary Romance; Erotic Romance; Fantasy

Length: 40 Pages

Tags: Gay; M/M; Established Couple; Bear; Disease; Holiday: Christmas; Novelette

About Santa’s Sack

A boyfriend is not just for Christmas, he’s for life!

For Peter and Kris, Sitges feels like a second home, and as they party the night away, they meet a bear called Nic. As they head out to their favourite nightclub, Nic joins them in one of Sitges famous foam parties. As the August holiday draws to an end and summer starts to fade across the horizon, Peter and Kris return home. The memory of their horny holiday quickly disappears as tragedy changes their lives forever, and their love of Christmas is left in ruins. A strange letter arrives on Christmas Eve, but when its contents are ignored, Christmas itself decides to intervene and return the magic to a heart that has forgotten how to love.

5 HEART READ

REVIEW: From the title of chapter one: The Man in the Red Leather Thong, to the humor as Kris thinks to himself of he and Peter’s annual holiday shenanigans, “It never failed to bring the devil out in us,” and the visual writing that drew me in “As the music of the Pied Piper called the rats to their doom, so the beat of sexual satisfaction called us to its hallowed doors,” I was captivated from page one of Sean Kerr’s holiday offering, Santa’s Sack. What touched me most is that this is not just a seasonal read. It is a book filled with so much real life emotion that by chapter two I was sobbing uncontrollably while reading aloud to my husband who stared back at me with glistening eyes. Thus far Kerr has offered us a paranormal adventure with his debut series Dead Camp.

If Santa’s Sack is what he has in store by way of contemporary romance, I am a goner!

Making this story more relatable and real for me is the fact that Peter is not perfect. He is a glorious daddy bear who Kris adores for his big, bulging, shuddering belly. And both men are middle aged, personifying that who we are and our sexual desire doesn’t just end in our youth with a lustful body. Peter and Kris adore their annual holiday destination in Sitges. For them it is a way to let loose and be free in a way that appeals to them. As it becomes apparent that this year will be their last adventure together I found my heart aching because in so few pages Kerr had captured the essence of what these two men, and this yearly rendezvous, mean to each other – perfectly – and you want them to have the time of their life!

When the inevitable is laid out before you the despair is both scene stealing and heartbreaking, more so than anything I have ever read.

All because it is very evident that the author has put himself, his passion and feelings, into this story, capturing you completely.

Not only does it take your breath but it also steals Kris’ zest for life and his ability to love Christmas. As he ponders, “My love of Christmas and all things glittery had abandoned me, together with my capacity to care.” But as Kris finds himself in a downhill spiral of grief all is not lost as this mysterious fantasy comes to conclusion and a special someone from Sitges may just hold the key to restore Kris’ spirit. A story of love, loss, anguish, hope, and belief in something more, Santa’s Sack will grip your emotions and steal your soul amidst a mysterious holiday fairy tale ending.

A copy of Santa’s Sack was purchased by Kimmers’ Erotic Book Banter in order that we might offer our fair and honest opinion on behalf of our readers.

Meet the Author

I think that as I approach that milestone that is fifty, I must be one of the oldest gamers on the face of this Earth. Many a day you will find me lashed to my PS4 enjoying a good session of Skyrim. Who doesn’t love a good session of Skyrim?

I love writing; I have done since I was a child when I would happily write about the latest episode of Doctor Who (Tom Baker in those days) in my schoolbooks. Growing up and becoming a business owner with my friend Jayne left little time to pursue my dream of publication, but of late the desire and the compulsion to put words onto paper have once again dominated my life so that now, my laptop has become surgically fussed to my fingertips.

There is something desperately satisfying about telling a story. My fascination with History, Religion and Conspiracy theories have, in this instance, gone hand in hand with my love of all things Vampire, fantasy, sci-fi, and horror. I drove my parents nuts when I was young because that was all I would read about in books, all I would watch on television, but they have held me in good stead and long may my obsession with the subjects continue, at least that is until the day they put me in my own wooden box. And imagination is such a wonderful thing. I once had a rather vivid dream about David Tennant and the Tardis console, but I could not possibly go into details about that here. Let’s just say that my polarity was well and truly reversed.

Dead Camp is just the beginning. I have to check my knickers every day at the thought that this book is now in the public domain. My first book and I hope the first of many. And to those out there who love to write, who love to transport us to new worlds, or old worlds with a twisted perspective, I say to you keep going. I never thought I would ever see my work available to download, and thanks to eXtasy Books, the dream that I always thought unobtainable has finally come true. So thank you all at eXtasy, I am one happy homosexual thanks to you, and thank you the reader for taking the time to read this strange tale and allowing Eli and the incomparable Malachi into your lives.

And now I really need Skyrim.

For more from Sean be sure and visit his website!

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page