top of page

REVIEW: 'Get Up' by Reece Pine


Title: Get Up

Author: Reece Pine

Published: December 25, 2017

Publisher: NineStar Press

Cover Artist: Natasha Snow

Genre: Contemporary Romance; Erotic Romance

Length: 193 Pages

Tags: Gay; Genderqueer; Pansexual; Family Drama; HEA; CW: Child Abuse, PTSD, Murder, Animal Abuse

NOTE: There are tags or CW we chose not to disclose for sake of story arc.

About Get Up

Recently dumped (again) for being cold, Guy gladly accepts his publisher friend’s request to go to a remote hut in wintry Nunavut to find out whether aspiring novelist Cam Campbell is a plagiarist. By agreeing also to help the eccentric ecologist survey wildlife for a month, Guy buys time to assess Cam’s innocence and hear stories about Cam’s late father–Guy’s favorite fantasy writer and the man whose book Cam is accused of stealing.

Guy’s investigation is soon biased by his attraction to Cam and the growing concern about Cam’s odd behavior. At times, Cam dissociates and is icier than Guy could ever be, yet he’s the only one who’s ever recognized, at a glance, the emotions burning beneath Guy’s surface. Guy knows he’s the best person to help Cam abandon the dangerous wilds outside and address those in Cam’s head, but he also knows that he’ll lose the chance if he comes clean about his ulterior motives for getting close to Cam. How can he convince Cam to come in from the cold… and why are they both really out there anyway?

5 HEART READ

REVIEW:

One of the most unique and creative books I’ve read, Reece Pine’s Get Up completely blew me away. Seeing these two characters interact, and how their relationship changes both their lives was an intense and moving experience. The unexpected twists and turns in this thoughtful story kept me fascinated and dying to see what would happen next.

This is the second book I’ve read by Reece Pine and what struck me with both of them is the absolute originality of her stories. The characters are one of a kind and the unpredictable plots are a pleasure to read. Once I started Get Up I couldn’t put it down, and when I finished it I scrolled right back to the beginning and started reading again. I love when that happens!

This is a complex, multi-layered novel which builds consistently as the story progresses. As the men grow comfortable with each other and begin to interact on a more personal level, they are forced to confront their own damage before they can truly connect. There are some intense things going on here and Reece Pine does an amazing job building the tension. This is a slow reveal, artfully done, and I never saw it coming.

 

One of the most unique and creative books I’ve read, Reece Pine’s Get Up completely blew me away.

 

My favorite part of Get Up is the way the characters express themselves. The dialog is clever and creative, and as the attraction builds between these two I thought the sexual tension might just kill me. When these guys finally get together, and I’m not going to spoil anything here, but these are some of the most erotic scenes I’ve read in a long time.

Few things equal the rare and wonderful experience of a book I can’t put down. A truly spectacular story, Get Up deserves all the praise I can give it. I’m so glad to have discovered Reece Pine and I’m waiting anxiously to see what this extremely gifted author will write next.

A copy of Get Up was provided to Kimmers’ Erotic Book Banter, by NineStar Press, at no cost and with no expectations in return. We offer our fair and honest opinion on behalf of our readers.

Meet the Author

Reece is a translator and ownvoices LGBTQIA+ writer who lives in Australia. She has published romances with Dreamspinner, Less Than Three, and Ninestar Press, and can be found at reecepine.com.

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page