top of page

BLOG TOUR with REVIEW and EXCLUSIVE EXCERPT: 'Redeeming the Stepbrother' by Andrew Grey


Title: Redeeming the Stepbrother

Series: Tales from St. Giles #2

Author: Andrew Grey

Published: April 10, 2018

Cover Artist: Adrian Nicholas

Genre: Contemporary Romance; Erotic Romance

Length: 200 Pages

Tags: Gay; M/M; Family Drama; Angst: Medium; HEA; Standalone

About Redeeming the Stepbrother

Family can be a blessing and a curse, but for artist Florian, it’s a nightmare he longs to escape.

As chief designer for Bartholomew Porcelain Studio, Florian specializes in painting birds. He also watches them in the wild to distract himself from his short-tempered mother, at least temporarily. Florian’s heart is too soft to leave his stepsister, Ella, to suffer alone. Still, he can’t help dreaming about one day finding happiness and love.

When Count Dieter von Hollenbach arrives in town to visit a friend and present an award, he isn’t looking for romance. Then again, he doesn’t expect someone as perfect as Florian to come into his life. To make sure Florian is all he seems and that their connection is genuine, Dieter keeps his title to himself.

But he isn’t the only one with a secret.

At a masquerade ball to celebrate the award, some of the masks fall away, but those that remain in place could destroy the love beginning to grow between them.

 

Beau went on as if nothing stood in his way now. “I’ll get a live band and we can dance.” He swayed back and forth. “You remember the first time we danced together? It was in that huge ballroom, but just the two of us. I’ve always wanted to throw a party, and this is a real celebration of success. Your success and that of the entire studio.” Beau took Dante’s hand, and I turned away. I didn’t want everyone to see how much I longed for that kind of gentle touch. For someone to care enough about me to want to soothe my feelings even when they’d already gotten what they wanted.

“Do you like parties?” Dieter asked, leaning slightly forward.

I set down the half of the sandwich I’d been about to take a bite from. I personally wasn’t too sure about parties. I didn’t dance and figured I’d end up against the wall somewhere watching everyone else have fun. “I don’t know. I haven’t been to one since I was a kid.”

“You haven’t been to a party?” Dieter asked a little too loudly, and both Beau and Dante turned to me.

I shrugged hard. “It isn’t like my family is much for parties.” I took a bite of the sandwich, becoming more uncomfortable at the line of questioning that led to my family. There was nothing I could do to change how I’d grown up.

“Then I’ll make sure you get an invitation.” Beau shook Dante’s hand in excitement, his dinner apparently long forgotten. “We can invite everyone from the studio. They all worked really hard to earn this award, and it would be a nice night for them. I want to do it while Dieter is here, so I only have a few weeks, but I can get a tent for outside the ballroom so we’d have plenty of space.”

“Can’t we keep it small?” Dante asked, his impatience close to the surface.

“Nope. It’s a celebration and it should be grand. And we can make it a benefit at the same time. Maybe an art auction or something.” Beau rambled on about another of his ideas, and I took the chance to watch Dieter as he looked at them.

Dieter nodded in response to a question from Beau, and his hair fluttered, cascades sliding over his shoulders.

“Fine,” Dante said. “You can do whatever you want. But it’s going to have to be pretty quick. There isn’t a lot of time, and something this big is going to take some organization.” Dante seemed self-satisfied, like he’d just come up with a huge wet blanket to throw over the entire thing. Beau, on the other hand, didn’t seem fazed at all. He simply pulled out his phone and started sending messages. Within seconds his phone chimed multiple times. “What?” Dante growled.

“Angie says she’s going to call the tent people and has a sister-in-law who knows a great band. Harriet says just to tell her the date and time. She’s already putting a menu together. And Roberts is apparently scheduling a crew to come in to clean the ballroom and will arrange for extra tables, chairs, and a florist.” Beau’s phone chimed again, and he scrolled through. “Perfect, a week from Saturday will work.” He sent out more texts and received more chimes in return. “All set. Everyone knows.” He set down the phone, smirking at Dante. “Did you really think I couldn’t do this?”

Another growl was Beau’s answer, and he scowled back.

“Keep that up and I’ll find you a beast costume.” Beau fake glared, and I covered my mouth to keep from giggling. Dante was widely known as the Beast of St. Giles , and the rumors had only begun to subside when he’d met the outgoing Beau Clarity . Even so, they persisted, though Dante didn’t seem particularly interested in whether the rumors died completely or not.

 


Where he says:

"The components of a great fairy tale exist with Florian the good, kind and innocent; Dieter the white knight; while adding in the sweet and sassy stepsister, the evil stepmother, and an envious and unhinged brother."

Meet the Author

Andrew grew up in western Michigan with a father who loved to tell stories and a mother who loved to read them. Since then he has lived throughout the country and traveled throughout the world. He has a master’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and works in information systems for a large corporation.

Andrew’s hobbies include collecting antiques, gardening, and leaving his dirty dishes anywhere but in the sink (particularly when writing) He considers himself blessed with an accepting family, fantastic friends, and the world’s most supportive and loving partner. Andrew currently lives in beautiful, historic Carlisle, Pennsylvania.

For more from Andrew be sure and visit his website.

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page