top of page

EXCLUSIVE AUTHOR FLASH-FIC: 'Tommy's Cat Delivery Service' by Lynn Van Dorn


We at Kimmers' Erotic Book Banter provided author Lynn Van Dorn the below photo prompt and asked her to write a five-hundred word or less short story EXCLUSIVELY for our readers. Now, we're the first to admit this is well over five-hundred words... but who are we to complain? Come on, you give five-hundred words a whirl! And besides, Tommy's Cat Delivery Service is gonna touch your sweet

and sexy side. Be sure to stop by and visit Lynn to let her know how much you appreciate her talent!

Tommy's Cat Delivery Service

by Lynn Van Dorn

Tommy: Mrs. Stavros’ cat had kittens again

Nik: And?

Tommy: There's one left over and if they can't find her a home then she'll probably end up in a shelter

Nik: no

Tommy: she's really cute

Nik: no. Go away, Tommy Boy.

Tommy: stop calling me that

Nik: stop being ridiculous

Tommy: here’s a picture [attachment]

Nik: you are the worst

Tommy: I'll bring her by

Tommy: start thinking up names

Nik: I hate you

Tommy: see you tonight!

***

Nik had looked at the picture all day, a gray kitten perched on Tommy’s shoulder. He had a beard now, and it made him look uncomfortably adult. Well, he was an adult--nearly twenty--but Nik made himself remember Tomasz as he'd first seen him: sitting on the the floor, wearing Iron Man pajamas, playing with Lego's.

Lusting after your best friend's much younger brother was beyond inappropriate. It bordered on unforgivable.

Nik had been relieved when Tommy’s very obvious puppy-love crush on him had evaporated. Marek, Tommy’s brother and Nik’s best friend, had assured Nik that going to college would cure Tomasz, and it had. He'd had a succession of boyfriends, and shared everything with Nik, because, “I can tell you anything.” Nik liked that Tomasz felt comfortable enough to confide in him, but he could have done without the blow-by-blow commentary of Tommy’s sex life.

It gave Nik ideas. Terrible ones.

He jumped when his apartment buzzer blatted loudly. Over the intercom he heard, “Tommy’s Cat Delivery Service.”

“Go away,” Nik said, and buzzed Tomasz in.

He held a carrier, which he set down. “I'll let her acclimate, then we'll open the cage door and see how she does. How are you, Nik? It's been ages since we've seen each other.”

“We talk pretty much every day.” Nik tried to ignore how wide Tommy’s shoulders had become. He still wasn't as tall as his gigantic brother, but he was taller than Nik now. When had that happened?

“Texting.” Nik made a face. “That doesn't count. I've decided to transfer to Northwestern, by the way. Being away from home was nice, but it's expensive. Northwestern isn't cheap, but I'll save money if I can live somewhere besides a dorm.”

Tommy. Home. Nik felt his palms start to sweat.

Inside the carrier, the kitten mewed.

“I think we can let her out now.” The kitten crept out of the the carrier, stalked around the room, then leapt on the couch. She climbed onto Nik’s lap, curled into a ball, and started to purr. “Well,” Tommy said. “Congratulations. I think you have a new cat.”

“I hate you,” Nik said.

“I don't think you do,” Tommy replied, then he leaned over and kissed Nik.

Nik’s heart felt like it would explode out of his chest. Tommy’s lips on his. Tommy’s tongue in his mouth. Tommy moaning, with his fingers buried in Nik’s hair.

“You know I love you, right? That I've always loved you. I tried to not love you and it didn't work. So let's try this, instead.”

Nik blinked at Tommy. Little Tommy, who wasn't little any more. “Try what?”

“Me, you. I don't want to lie in my bed and text you every night. I want to lie in your bed and fuck you silly. Doesn't that sound better? I think it does.”

Nik swallowed. “You want… to what? Move in?” His hand went to the kitten in his lap. She butted her head into it then licked his fingers.

“I might as well. Especially since you've co-opted my cat.”

“I hate you, and I don't like cats.”

Tommy laughed and kissed him again. “All my stuff is in my car. Come help carry it in.”

***

Later that night, naked in Tommy’s arms, Nik said, “I hope Marek forgives me for shacking up with his baby brother.”

Tommy laughed. “Who do you think helped me load the car?”

Meet the Author

Lynn Van Dorn was born in Ohio and left it for the wilds of Chicago in her reckless youth. She wanted to become a fairy princess when she grew up, but since there are few openings for that position, she makes do with being a writer.

In her spare time, she drinks entirely too much tea, snugs her cats, loves her husband and son, reads voraciously, and avoids housework. She loves to watch anime, travel, knit, bake cookies, and conjure up happy ever afters for handsome men who have trouble getting there on their own.

For more from Lynn be sure and visit her website!

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page