top of page

BANTER BUDDIES: A Dual View of Charlie Cochet's 'Thick & Thin'


I'm so excited to say that today Trio and I put our earbuds to the test so we could bring you our thoughts on Charlie Cochet's audio release of Thick & Thin over at Dreamspinner Press.

The eighth book in her THIRDS series this novella packs a lot of suspense in just under four hours and explains so much about the men of Destructive Delta.

If you're a THIRDS fan this is an absolute must! We hope you give it a listen. Tracy

Title: Thick & Thin

Series: THIRDS #8

Published: February 1, 2017

Audio: May 15, 2017

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press Cover Artist: L.C. Chase

Genre: Paranormal Romance; Sci-Fi Romance; Erotic Romance; Mystery/Thriller; Suspense; Urban Fantasy

Length: 95 Pages/3 Hours 20 Minutes

Tags: Gay; M/M; Cops; Shifter: Various; Novella; Audiobook

About Thick & Thin

In a matter of days, Dex has been kidnapped, tortured, killed, revived, become half Therian, offered the chance to become a spy, and accepted a proposal to marry his jaguar Therian boyfriend, Sloane Brodie. It’s been a lot to take in, and although Dex is still trying to wrap his head around everything that’s happened, he knows he has to move forward.

After the events of Smoke & Mirrors, Dex and Sloane find themselves in one of the most frightening situations of all: revealing the truth to their Destructive Delta family. When the dust settles, nothing will ever be the same, and it’s up to Dex to prove that in the face of change, the one thing that will always remain the same is family.

Favorite main character:

Tracy: I really love Sloane...he’s an alpha, he’s fierce, he’s sexy as hell, and has a heart of gold. And when he’s in is Therian form he is gorgeous! Trio: I’m such a Dex girl it isn’t even funny! I love how he pulls the whole team together. He cares so deeply for his family, Cochet just really nailed it on this guy. I can’t get enough of his shenanigans, they never get old.

Favorite secondary character:

Tracy: I’d have to say Ash...he’s a typical tough guy but underneath all of that arrogance and bluster is a total sweetheart. Trio: Myself, I have a huge thing for Cael. I especially enjoy him in Dex’s boyhood reminiscences, and the way they play off Tony together is always fun. And Cael and Ash together? No couple is hotter! Cael’s kink is simply the best. (It’s always the quiet ones.)

Favorite endearment:

Tracy: I love how Dex calls Cael “'Chirpy'” it’s so adorable and I love how mad Cael gets. Trio: In this book? Hands down when Sloane calls Dex his “'fierce little Felid-in-training'” - lol. Although I have to agree with Tracy, Dex’s nickname for Cael, Chirpy, is my all-time favorite.

Favorite scene:

Tracy: The super hot sex scene between Dex and Sloane. Trio: Oh, I love the great scene in the bar when Sloane tells Ash that he’s marrying Dex. Ash’s reaction is classic, and he tells Sloane, “'Don’t procreate.'”

Favorite quote:

Tracy: There is a scene where Sloane and Ash are having a drink and he finally spills the beans about his engagement to Dex… Ash says, after spitting out his drink…“'Are you trying to fucking kill me?'” Trio: Ha, ha, that was good, Tracy. For me it's not possible to narrow it down to only one, so I’ve got two: “'Yeah, you like that? Who’s the apex predator now?'” Dex thinks he can get away with that with Sloane? Maybe for a few minutes, but there’s only one Alpha in that relationship!

The other memorable one is when Dex tells Tony he’s joining TIN. Tony thinks Dex is too good to work with TIN and Dex replies, “'Even good men have darkness in them.'” There is darkness in Dex and we’ve only really started to scratch the surface of it.

Best introduction of of spin off characters?

Tracy: Definitely Calvin and Hobbs. :)

Trio: What Tracy says. Oh, and Ash and Cael? Seb and Hudson? Yes please!

This book made me:

Tracy: Really look forward to book nine. There is so much going on and I can’t wait to read about it.

Trio: Seriously? Crave Dex and Sloane’s upcoming TIN series! I can’t wait to find out what’s up with Sparks and if she’s really into Tony or if he’s playing her right back. I’ve got to know if Dex is in on it. I really hope Wolf’s character makes another appearance either in the THIRDS books or in the TIN series. And I need more Austen! When are we getting his story and are his peeping Tom days over?

What type of reader would you recommend this book to?

Tracy: Anyone who enjoys paranormal romance, shifters and mystery/suspense. This series is an investment...we’ve got eight books so far and I don’t see an end near, which is great because the characters that Charlie Cochet has created are really amazing and you can’t help but root for them all! Trio: I agree with Tracy, this series is a big investment, but so worth it! Charlie Cochet has created an amazing cast - the relationships between these guys encompass friendship, family, and a commitment that goes beyond all of that. They are sweet and silly, and Cochet has the best time with their antics. The sex is incredibly hot too, so if you like that? I have to add that I found this series after the first three had already been narrated by Mark Westfield. I can’t even read the books without hearing his voice in my head - his tones, his inflections - he’s just so spot on. No one else could ever narrate these guys!

For purchase links, excerpts, meet the author, and more . . . visit our review recommendation links above.

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page