top of page

HOT TOPIC: The GRL Experience, Part 4


Wow, what a whirlwind experience GayRomLit is turning out to be and I’ve so far only made it through the first full day. I am one lucky lady that my adventures started well before the official kick off, as it is definitely prolonging what would otherwise be one of those moments in life you anticipate with such excitement, and when it arrives, it’s over in a flash.

My weekend started with the thrill of being able to host author Joseph Lance Tonlet in my home! I cannot even begin to express how surreal an experience this was for me. Someone who I did not even know when I read his book Grif’s Toy in April 2015 has not only become a supporting influence in my life, and the reason I started Kimmers’ Erotic Book Banter, but is someone who I am now able to call a my friend! Yes, I'm still pinching myself.

My family and friends welcomed him with open arms. Oh and maybe a barbecue, plus a game of Speak Out, with Conor of Sean Cody.

From there Joseph and I spent a couple of days doing our favorite thing together: Reading! While I managed to bake and pack in preparation for our trip to Kansas City.

After a three and a half hour drive we checked into the Westin on Wednesday afternoon, where we met up with six of our friends and found many the author mingling in the lobby. I would love to share all the famous faces with you but because I was busy watching our luggage I didn’t get a very good snapshot of the writers. But look at this great pic of all the gear required to house two people comfortably in a hotel for five days! LMAO

That is not even the pièce de ré·sis·tance! THIS is the outcome of a two hour trip to Costco and Walmart, filled with tons of giggles and a little getting lost, for snacks and libations to sustain eight of us during our duration.

But enough about prepping and arriving. *grins* Day one of GRL was……..Heaven!

I spent the morning at the Supporting Author Spotlight Event where I met so many wonderful authors, bought some books and got some autographs. Lyssa Dering, Terry Poole, Christine Wright, and even Caraway Carter whose newest book, 7 with 1 Blow came out yesterday!

From there I sat in on an author Q & A with Carol Lynne, Ethan Day and Lisa Henry. Fangril, fangirl….Lisa Henry, aka Cari Waites. Brain fart moment for Kimmers: I asked her if she would sign my copy of her book, Stealing Innocents, and realized I left it up in the hotel room, *face palm*, but she totally asked me to bring it by today. Maybe I can still redeem myself.

Oh, and for those who are fans of Liberty Lace’s work….Ethan Day from Wilde City Press tells me “Yes, there are more to come.”

I even got to sit and listen to Wade Kelly, TM Smith and Morticia Knight read excerpts from some of their novels. To hear them express their own excitement and emotion from their very own words. AWESOME!

All of these moments are just magnified by the experience of watching those attending GRL. There is something absolutely genuine in everyone I see. Whether it is the excitement of seeing their friends for the first time in a year, meeting a writer they can’t wait to ask to autograph their book, getting to ask their favorite author a question, authors fanning over other authors, or just mingling in the lobby with a cocktail and making new friends – everyone has a smile on their face and a sparkle in their eye showing exactly what this retreat means to them, myself included.

On top of that being able to share my first time here with some wonderful people I am lucky enough to call my friends, priceless!

I can only hope that if you are reading this feature about my GRL experience that it will be enough to peak your interest and perhaps you will make the leap to come next year. I can already tell you my plans are beginning for 2017, especially since finding out last night next years retreat will be in the town I grew up in for 34 years.

Here I come Denver!


Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page